We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like caverns better, but this place is worth the stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Cave

Mammoth Cave
1 Mammoth Cave Parkway, Mammoth Cave National Park, KY 42259
270 758 2180
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Group tours/air tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A mysterious limestone cave that has fascinated people for 4,000 years.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“We like caverns better, but this place is worth the stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided to check out Mammoth Caves figuring it was a big cavern, wrong. It is a VERY big cave, but not a cavern.

There are several different hikes / tours you can take. We choose one that was about 2 hours long which was fine time wise.

The caves are deep, dark and a bit of a challenge to walk. Well the one we did was, but they do offer tours for just about anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    281
    69
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique sight and wonderful tour. Must see at least once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to veer off our path to Florida to see Mammoth Caves and it turned out to be a wonderful experience. We did the New Entrance tour with our two kids and exchange student. We were in a group of about 30 with two guides. Very entertaining and knowledgable. The stairs down into the cave were as many and as steep as promised on the website, but also quite beautiful. I have a moderate to severe fear of heights (on a scale of none to paralyzing, lol) and I felt very comfortable on them. My kids had no problem with the hike at all. The way out of the cave was more gradual. The cave itself is just so cool. Even my teenager loved it. After the tour we walked the grounds a little (beautiful fall color) and found the historic entrance. Wide gaping cave entrance... Just amazing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mundo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a hole in the ground like none other....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the size of this mammoth is hard to describe... imagine a cavern you could drive a semi in AND turn around in! over 400 miles of caverns and still growing! Definitely a must see even if it is only the historical tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L4r4k3
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“World's longest Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We did the New Entrance Tour and it was worth every cent we paid. This tour shows the "dry" cave and a section of the cave Known as the Niagara Tour and it is the "wet" part of the cave.
Awesome cave!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cave of all caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've visited Mammoth Cave several times and have taken my grandchildren twice. Each time we took two different tours, our favorite being the 4 hr. tour. It's amazing how much energy the kids have! There were so into it, I could hardly keep up, they love it and want to go back again...which we will! We all enjoyed eating lunch in the Snowball Room...if you go, be sure to wear a jacket, as it is quite chilly the lower you go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Cave also viewed

Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
 
Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
 

Been to Mammoth Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Cave to your Saves list