We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tick infested” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Houchins Ferry Campground

Houchins Ferry Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mammoth Cave National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Houchins Ferry Campground
Save
You added Houchins Ferry Campground to your Saves list
Mammoth Cave National Park, KY   |  
Hotel amenities
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tick infested”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Easter weekend. The weather was really nice, but the ferry was closed. Site 10 had lots of space and wood was plentiful for fires. The riverbank was very steep and muddy so casual fishing from the bank wasn't very good. There were 4 portos that were fairly clean with the normal spider webs, but there were also hornets inside during the day. As soon as we started putting up our tent, we noticed ticks everywhere! Most were lone star ticks, but there were also deer ticks. Pulled off at least a dozen off the dog, a handful off me and a few off the baby and the wife. Off Deep Woods Max (40% deet) worked decently, but we ended up limiting the baby and dog's time outside of the tent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

It's so nice to get out of the parking lots offered by most campgrounds. The ferry is a nice distraction during the day and when it shuts down at night woohoo the owls start whooting and the world becomes a different place. Most of the banks are a little steep for little little kids my son is 5 and managed pretty good. Fishing was good. Some of the spots are close hetogether but we were the only ones there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Over the years I have stayed at Houchins Ferry Campground, Mammoth Cave National Park, Brownsville, KY. Although Kentucky Tourist Guide says this park is not suitable for RV's I disagree. I own a 88FC35 Bluebird Wanderlodge, 35' in length and I can get my coach in all but one of the sites. This park does not have any hookups, but if you have a generator on board your RV it's doable and in a good way. Peace & quiet, beauty & charm is what this campground offers. The Green River is full of fish for the taking, so if you require a commercial setting with RV on top of RV stay away, but if you can dry camp for a few days this is the park for you. Canoe, kayak,fish the Green River, visit the main park & cave system 12 miles away. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We enjoyed camping here by the Houchens Ferry on the Green River. There is fresh water in a spigot. The bathrooms are port-a-pots. But they were actually OK. There are 12 sites. Some of them are little small if you like a lot of privacy. But the campground was only about 1/3 full on Saturday, so we got two good sites close together in the rear of the campground. We enjoyed hiking two little paths which originate behind our camp site. One goes up a hill a little ways. The other goes along the river. Neither of these are official trails and they do not go very far. There are many longer trails available, but you would need to take your car.

I think the fall colors were at peak. That combined with the river in the background, made the campground a really pleasant place to hang out with friends and enjoy nature.

  • Liked — Nice setting
  • Disliked — Some sites are little small
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Houchins Ferry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houchins Ferry Campground

Address: Mammoth Cave National Park, KY
Location: United States > Kentucky > Mammoth Cave National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mammoth Cave National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground only allows tents and offers 12 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Houchins Ferry Campground Hotel Mammoth Cave National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houchins Ferry Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.