We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanita Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Campground
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Calm and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I love Lassen National Park. It is never crowded. The rangers and park employees are
friendly and knowledgeable. Manzanita Lake is a true find for fishing folks as it is full of wild, large, "educated" fish. There is lots of wildlife. We are all lucky to have National Parks and this one is a subtle gem.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had origially reserved a site in the A loop, but we didn't like that one so we drove around the first-come, first-serve loops in hopes of finding a better site. We finally settled on D-30, which seemed to be the best available site in the tents-only D loop. The site was quieter because it's on the edge of the campground and the Manzanita Creek Trail was right by the campsite. We asked a ranger how to "switch" our registration and we were told to just take the sign down from our reserved site and hang it on the post at our new site.

Manzanita Lake is one of the nicest and best-run campgrounds we have ever camped in. The restrooms were modern and clean, there is a cool store nearby where you can buy everything you need, there are laundry and shower facilities, and Manzanita Lake is a short walk away. There is also a visitor center nearby with interesting displays and ranger-guided hikes and activities. We also rented kayaks and took them out on Manzanita Lake, which was a blast and where we got our first good look at Lassen Peak. There is a trail which leads from the campground along the south side of the lake and where you can get a great view of Lassen Peak at sunset from the west shore of the lake.

One of the great features of this campground is that two of the loops are on the NRRS reservation system and the other two loops are first-come, first-serve, so you have the best of both worlds. We were there in Aug. and found that this campground really fills up on weekends and empties out during the week. The least full nites are probably going to be Sun., Mon., and Tues. There are also campfire programs on Fri. and Sat. nites.

The only drawback of this campground is that it's a long drive to the south end of the park, about an hour to the south entrance. This campground is overall a winner. See my separate review of Lassen Volcanic National Park for more info.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We reserved a spot in the A loop, but it was not a nice spot, small and zero privacy. So, we switched to the D loop (tents only), which is first come, first serve. We stayed at site D13 - the sites over there were more spacious and private. The bathrooms were very clean! I saw staff cleaning them at least twice a day! At the camper store, there were showers and laundry, both were adequate. The kids liked the soft serve ice cream at the store. There was just about anything you'd need at the store. The lake was gorgeous, we brought our kayaks and the view of Lassen Peak from the lake was fabulous. Next time, we will go straight to the D loop to look for a site as I didn't see any in any of the other loops that we liked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Lovely lake near the campsite and hot showers nearby make this a great campground. The park is wonderful--small enough to see completely in 3 days. You can hike most of the trails in the park in this time if you are fit and ambitious.

  • Liked — Proximity to lake and park attractions
  • Disliked — mosquitos!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2004

I stayed at the Manzanita Lake campground the first weekend of August 2004. This was definitely the best campsite in the Lassen Park area. We stayed in Loop C - really nice. Great clean private flush bathrooms -with soap and a mirror! Very nice, flat campsites with good space for two tents. Nice picnic table and plenty of room for our two cars. Loop B didn't look as nice, but would've sufficed if it was the only thing left (older picnic tables) Loop D is for tents only - no RVs allowed. Loop A looked like it would have been pretty modern too - but it was 'reserve only' - we did "first come / first serve" and glad we got there early because it did book up! Try to get there before 11am. If you drive from the bay area, it will take you almost 5 hours to get there, so leave early!
Manzanita Lake campsite is in walking distance to the lake, not on the lake itself. The lake is much smaller than you would think! You could easily walk around the whole lake in about 45 minutes or so. We even went swimming in the lake - it's very shallow. Didn't even get up to our necks.
I highly recommend Manzanita Lake for camping. Go on the Kings Creek Falls hiking trail! Most beautiful cascade waterfalls line the entire path.

Was this review helpful? Yes 101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manzanita Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Campground

Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This facility is open for camping with full services from June 1 through September 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Campground Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanita Lake Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manzanita Lake Campground to your Saves list