We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice campground!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanita Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Campground
Save Saved
You added Manzanita Lake Campground to your Saves list
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A very nice campground!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two night in the campground-tent camping. We reserved in loop A which was adequate. No site is perfect and some are better than others but we were near restrooms which were clean. The ground was hard I must admit, but it was just as hard in Loops B,C,and D. Nothing to complain about. (except the loud snoring guy in a nearby tent! I wanted to holler over to him,"roll over buddy!" but I refrained) The trees smelled wonderful and the sky was brilliant. The stars were too numerous to count and certainly brighter than home. Our campfire was warm and glowing! All the makings of a great camping experience! The (coin operated) shower building and the store were near the entrance. The little store was full of interesting things. All in all, a nice campground and would stay here again! (provided the snoring guy stayed home!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porter Ranch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Manzanita Lake Campground on loop A of the campground in an RV. It was fairly close to the lake and the bathrooms were clean. The lake is beautiful, but not great for swimming. There is a lot of silt that gets kicked up when you walk into the lake and the pine needles etc are kind of hard on your feet. Kayak rental is fun, but only available from 10-3pm.

Campground programs are scattered throughout the park; meaning that they did not have a program the night we were there. Instead, we enjoyed twilight sitting on a log lakeside watching the Canadian Geese bottoms up, feeding on the bottom of the lake, ducklings swimming by and bats flying just above the lake eating bugs.

Jr. Ranger badges are particularly challenging at Lassen. This took a lot of time because we opted to kayak rather than go to a jr. ranger program. But that was the better choice. They give you a patch, rather than a pin at Lassen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed there in April 2012. Very nice campground. Restroom are very clean and the staff in very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This campground is a little dusty and cramped, with minimal facilities. Our site did not have a flat spot to sleep on. When we arrived, we occupied what we thought was an open site but it just turned out to be a site that the campground management had not posted a "reserved" sign on. The occupants showed up later with an online reservation confirmation, which they displayed on their smart phone, and we had to move -- a major pain in the [---]. The campers next to us coughed and talked very loudly throughout the night; finally at 4 am I walked over to their tent and asked them to speak more quietly. I've camped about 10 times a year in California for 25 years and this campsite is a little below average, somewhat diminishing the value of its location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just concluded a 3 night stay in two campsites - Loop D #27 and 28. Family group of 10. We had a nice time but the campground is pretty dusty and the bathrooms were overused. Why? Because they allowed more than the limited size of two tents per campsite. The people behind us arrived at midnite with 4 tents - spent 4 hours setting up, noisy banging around and Park Ranger said later - they don't like to "confront."
Other big issue was the large amount of small stumps throughout the campsites - stumps sticking up 3 " that you can't see in the dark and trip over - a lawsuit waiting to happen. Campsites also very close together. They could do a little better....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We wanted to stay in a place that was quiet and in the park. After looking at all the lodging options available, we chose Manzanita Lake Cabins. Definitely happy with that choice. Everything was nice and clean. The cabin host was very knowledgeable. He gave us great tips for hiking trails. Make sure you take the time to stroll around the lake and star gaze. I would absolutely come back here again. The sights are comparable to Yosemite without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Don't know how you could fault the place, other than that it was a bit smokey (what campground isn't?). Has showers (a bit dated but they work great), nice store, flush toilets, running water, and is next to a pristine alpine lake. Perfect place to stay to explore the park, either in a tent or in RV. Very quiet at night, amazing stargazing as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manzanita Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Campground

Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This facility is open for camping with full services from June 1 through September 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Campground Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanita Lake Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.