We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manzanita Lake Campground Needs Help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanita Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Campground
Save
You added Manzanita Lake Campground to your Saves list
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Manzanita Lake Campground Needs Help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just concluded a 3 night stay in two campsites - Loop D #27 and 28. Family group of 10. We had a nice time but the campground is pretty dusty and the bathrooms were overused. Why? Because they allowed more than the limited size of two tents per campsite. The people behind us arrived at midnite with 4 tents - spent 4 hours setting up, noisy banging around and Park Ranger said later - they don't like to "confront."
Other big issue was the large amount of small stumps throughout the campsites - stumps sticking up 3 " that you can't see in the dark and trip over - a lawsuit waiting to happen. Campsites also very close together. They could do a little better....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We wanted to stay in a place that was quiet and in the park. After looking at all the lodging options available, we chose Manzanita Lake Cabins. Definitely happy with that choice. Everything was nice and clean. The cabin host was very knowledgeable. He gave us great tips for hiking trails. Make sure you take the time to stroll around the lake and star gaze. I would absolutely come back here again. The sights are comparable to Yosemite without the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Don't know how you could fault the place, other than that it was a bit smokey (what campground isn't?). Has showers (a bit dated but they work great), nice store, flush toilets, running water, and is next to a pristine alpine lake. Perfect place to stay to explore the park, either in a tent or in RV. Very quiet at night, amazing stargazing as well!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I love Lassen National Park. It is never crowded. The rangers and park employees are
friendly and knowledgeable. Manzanita Lake is a true find for fishing folks as it is full of wild, large, "educated" fish. There is lots of wildlife. We are all lucky to have National Parks and this one is a subtle gem.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had origially reserved a site in the A loop, but we didn't like that one so we drove around the first-come, first-serve loops in hopes of finding a better site. We finally settled on D-30, which seemed to be the best available site in the tents-only D loop. The site was quieter because it's on the edge of the campground and the Manzanita Creek Trail was right by the campsite. We asked a ranger how to "switch" our registration and we were told to just take the sign down from our reserved site and hang it on the post at our new site.

Manzanita Lake is one of the nicest and best-run campgrounds we have ever camped in. The restrooms were modern and clean, there is a cool store nearby where you can buy everything you need, there are laundry and shower facilities, and Manzanita Lake is a short walk away. There is also a visitor center nearby with interesting displays and ranger-guided hikes and activities. We also rented kayaks and took them out on Manzanita Lake, which was a blast and where we got our first good look at Lassen Peak. There is a trail which leads from the campground along the south side of the lake and where you can get a great view of Lassen Peak at sunset from the west shore of the lake.

One of the great features of this campground is that two of the loops are on the NRRS reservation system and the other two loops are first-come, first-serve, so you have the best of both worlds. We were there in Aug. and found that this campground really fills up on weekends and empties out during the week. The least full nites are probably going to be Sun., Mon., and Tues. There are also campfire programs on Fri. and Sat. nites.

The only drawback of this campground is that it's a long drive to the south end of the park, about an hour to the south entrance. This campground is overall a winner. See my separate review of Lassen Volcanic National Park for more info.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We reserved a spot in the A loop, but it was not a nice spot, small and zero privacy. So, we switched to the D loop (tents only), which is first come, first serve. We stayed at site D13 - the sites over there were more spacious and private. The bathrooms were very clean! I saw staff cleaning them at least twice a day! At the camper store, there were showers and laundry, both were adequate. The kids liked the soft serve ice cream at the store. There was just about anything you'd need at the store. The lake was gorgeous, we brought our kayaks and the view of Lassen Peak from the lake was fabulous. Next time, we will go straight to the D loop to look for a site as I didn't see any in any of the other loops that we liked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Lovely lake near the campsite and hot showers nearby make this a great campground. The park is wonderful--small enough to see completely in 3 days. You can hike most of the trails in the park in this time if you are fit and ambitious.

  • Liked — Proximity to lake and park attractions
  • Disliked — mosquitos!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manzanita Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Campground

Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This facility is open for camping with full services from June 1 through September 30. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Campground Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanita Lake Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.