We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Experience in Lassen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins
Save
You added Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins to your Saves list
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA 96088   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular Experience in Lassen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Cabin #3 just before Labor Day weekend. I made the booking online 6 months in advance. Having flown to CA from WA, we did not have camping gear with us and opted for the "camper's amenity package." It was terrific to have linens for the bed, a sleeping bag for our 4 year old, towels, a stove, firewood, a cooler with ice, pots and pans, s'more supplies, and a lantern. The cabin has just a foam mattress on a wooden bed frame for a couple, so we did bring a twin air mattress for our son to put under his sleeping bag. The cabin had a heater built in that kept us nice and toasty all night long. Little touches like the mirror and coat hooks were very nice. There were 2 chairs on the porch and 2 more inside with a little table. So we were able to move these chairs down by the firepit for s'mores in the evening. The picnic table outside had benches as well. The store has plenty of other supplies, deli sandwiches, and ice cream cones. We rented a kayak there too; they drove it down to the lakeshore on a trailer and supplied life jackets and a dry sack. All of the employees were extremely friendly and helpful! The bathrooms were clean and well stocked with soap and toilet paper. The showers are a bit pricey at $1.25 for 3 min of water, but clean. We also enjoyed the ranger program on volcanoes at the amphitheater (5 min walk from the cabins).

Room Tip: Cabin #3 is close to the lake and to the bathrooms/store/showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
orick
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed for two nights in October 2011. The cabins were the perfect way to enjoy the amazing national park-without having to deal with all of my camping gear. The weather was a bit chilly outside, but inside the cabin it was toasty. We had a great BBQ dinner on the campfire and went for a moon lit walk around the lake.
In the morning we went to the store and had some delicious bagel/egg/sausage sandwiches, cup of coffee and headed out for a great day of hiking and site seeing.
Next time we might get the Deluxe package that comes with everything you need-and not worry about bringing any camping stuff.

I am coming back this October-I don't think the fires will change my mind

Room Tip: All the cabins are close to each other-at first I was a little surprised that they were not more ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I just spent two nights in #15,,,and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cabin was immaculate. Plenty warm and comfortable. The lake was just a short walk away. It was very quiet and peaceful....cabin 15 is set back probably farthest from the lake....right on the boundary with the campground...and arriving on Labor Day...it was like having the place to myself after everybody left for home. Can't wait to go back and take my wife with me. The place will only get prettier as the vegetation returns around the cabins. I highly recommend staying in the cabins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would give the cabin a 4.5 if I could and completely recommend the cabins as an alternative to tent-camping at Lassen. They are cute, clean, quiet, and still new! They have propane heaters and locking doors.
We spent 3 nights in a 2-room cabin (#13) over Labor Day Weekend. The "front row" cabins have the best peek-view of the lake. We were really far from the store, which made our cabin quiet, but the closest toilets were the pit toilets (which came with some smell) and have no hand sanitizer.
As others have stated, the beds are exactly 6' long, which was too short for us. No propane lanterns are allowed inside, so I recommend bringing a powerful battery lantern and extra flashlights. We used the propane heater our first night because it dropped to 40° and it was so wonderful being warm. We played games every night at our inside table. The shower area near the store was quite nice. The store includes a small deli, soft serve ice cream, and is well stocked (including fresh fruit). They also have unleaded gas (expensive, though).
We rented kayaks for one hour (plenty) on Manzanita Lake which was fun. We also walked around the lake (1.8 miles) which is a beautiful walk at sunset and walked to the Loomis museum. We were constantly surprised at how quiet the cabin area and Manzanita Lake were even on a busy holiday weekend. We also didn't see a single mosquito our entire trip (we are still baffled by this and make no guarantees for the future).
We had no cell phone service (AT&T) at the campground.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family of four (mom, dad/me, a 4 yr old and 6 yr,) plus two God Moms really enjoyed the cambins. We went in Mid July and thought the location of the cabins to the Lake was ideal. I was shocked by how quiet this campground was. There's a camper store with everything you need, showers are close, flush toilets, it was excellent. This is a fantastic camground, the cabins are new, it was great. You also have a lot of space from your neighbors. I highly recommend this campground , the locations and the cabins. We also recommend renting kayaks the lake is awesome, quiet, we saw fish jumping out of the water, and well as muskrats swimming. it's was a great family experience. Tip: the kayaks may be in high demand so go early, esp. on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were on a trip with 70+ year old grandparents and 2 teenagers and spent 2 nights at the brand new (built in 2011) cabins at Lassen. I'm giving it 5 stars even though it's not a Four Seasons. But for those of us who braved through campgrounds with broken glass, dirty toilets and bathrooms where you don't want to touch anything -- this is the "Four Seasons" for camping cabins. Here's what you get:

1. The ability to choose your actual cabin when you make your reservations. Ours had a peek of the lake (all views are obscured because of trees -- and for some reason, the national park frowns on cutting down trees to improve the views). Make sure you remember your cabin # in case you arrive late. The check-in desk closes at 8pm but they will leave the cabin open for you if you arrive late -- assuming you know which one is yours.

2. Clean, clean and super-clean. Bathrooms are cleaned several times a day. The cabin is cleaned after every guest. And by clean -- we saw the crews wiping the windows of the cabin. That's how thorough the cleaning is. The bathrooms are cleaner then the ones at home.

3. Brand new high quality furnishings. The hardwood floors in the cabin are nicer than the ones in our house. We had the 2 room cabin and it fits 7 (3 bunk beds, 1 queen bunk and 1 queen futon sofa-sleeper) even though the maximum is 6 people. The futon was comfy (hasn't been flattened from years of use) but the mattress in the other beds are your standard camping mattresses. We brought our 2 inch foam mattress topper to put on top and it made all the difference. The heat is controlled via a thermostat and was quiet and efficient.

4. 20 yards from the lake. Closer to the lake than the campground. So it's super-easy for the kids to play in the water and be yelling distance to come back for supper.

5. Location is convenient right on Manzanita Lake on the northern entrance of the park, 50 minutes drive from Redding. It's 30 minutes from the Bumpass Hell Trail and 20 minutes from the Subway Cave lava tube (which is highly recommended) in the National Forest at the junction of Rt 44 and Rt 89.

6. The camp store is there (open from 8 to 8pm) for supplies and cold food (if you don't plan on cooking). TJ's Diner in Old Station down the street from the lava tube is highly recommended for breakfast/lunch but they close on Tue/Wed. It's about a 20 minute drive away.

8. Bear Lockers are big and spacious. And because it's brand new, they don't have the funky smell like the ones at Yosemite.

9. Showers are a short walk away and take 5 quarters for 3 minutes. The kids skipped the showers (of course) but the grandparents appreciated it. There's also a laundrymat and kayaks for rent (from 10am to 3pm).

There are some drawbacks to note -- even for those used to the camping cabin experience:

1. There's only one key so if you have a big group, you need to wait for the one with the key. And the lock works differently in Northern California -- setting it to horizontal means it is locked, not unlocked like elsewhere in the country. So be careful you don't lock yourself out accidentally.

2. The fire pits are high and deep. So if you plan on grilling with charcoal -- you will need to have a lot of charcoal to reach the grilling area or put the charcoal on pieces of log (which is what we did).

3. Because they had to clear trees in order to build the cabins, the landscaping is a little skimpy as the plants has not grown in yet. And the deer come every evening to eat the plants that were planted. It'll take quite a few years for the plants to grow in so the area right around the cabin is barren and a little rocky. But 50 yards away, you reach the lake and it is no longer barren.

4. No electricity or cell coverage. They do provide an electric lantern and there are outlets in the laundrymat that you can use. And if you walk around the lake, you hit "spots" of cell service so your workaholic nature can be appeased. But I won't tell you where the cell coverage is -- you'll have to find it yourself.

All in all -- if you like camping but don't like the camping experience of sleeping on the ground and being exposed to the elements, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you don't want pit toilets (even clean ones), choose the cabin closest to the store where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights and can't say enough about how wonderful the cabins are. Our group rented 2 cabins, one for our family with kids and one for a couple. Cabins 10 and 16 were the perfect pair because we cooked all of our meals together and the fire pit was between the cabins.

The cabin was so clean and beautifully built. Even the vault toilets are immaculate. The second and third days we noticed the small army of folks quietly, efficiently and thoroughly cleaning everything. They went about their work without disrupting the calm of the campground at all.

We easily fit a port-a-crib for the baby and a "double" blow up mattress on the floor of a 1 room cabin. It was tight, but we had no trouble walking around (we didn't notice that the cabin was for 3, not 4 until we were all settled in...). The porch is big enough to sit comfortably with your coffee and watch the lake through the trees. There are 2 chairs and a small table on the porch.

I was worried about the size of the bear boxes because I couldn't find the dimensions online, but we fit a large igloo cooler inside, and it took up less than a third of the space.

They provide a lantern on check-in, which was unexpected and helpful.

The heater inside was very efficient and safe. I was afraid they would have a camping heater and was not sure it would be safe around little ones, but there was a thermostat and register like at home.

I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of healthy/normal food at the camp store. The camp stores of my childhood had nothing we normally ate. We packed more than we could eat, but it was nice to walk over for a treat. And hot coffee in the morning!

We rented a kayak to take on the lake. We could see the launching point from our front porch. The rental was reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a good lake for a kayak trip. The lake is scenic and there is a variety of landscape and coves to explore. The path around the lake was beautiful, I would recommend it to anyone. It isn't at all challenging, but there is so much to explore and there are beautiful views of the mountain on the far side.

There is a nice place for the kids to play in the water just past the boat launch, where the creek comes in to the lake. It is shallow with tiny tributaries,islands and fallen trees to explore; there were several families enjoying the water.

There is an interesting small museum an easy walk up the road.

We drove to the Subway Cave lava tube (20-25 minute drive) and were so glad we did. It was a good introduction to caves for those who hadn't been with lots of instructional signs. Some of us were in flip flops and some in sturdy shoes. We all made it through unscathed, but I'll definitely remember sturdy shoes next time. Also, it is pitch black in there, bring a light! Definitely a unique experience!

We will be going back for years to come and we will be staying at the camping cabins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins

Address: Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA 96088
Location: United States > California > Lassen Volcanic National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lassen Volcanic National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins are located near the northwest entrance to Lassen Volcanic National Park. The rustic Camping Cabins provide convenience, economy, and security. These 20 cabins are the first new accommodations in Lassen Volcanic National Park since 1972, and are available in three models: 2 Room, 1 Room, and Bunkhouse. We also offer special Amenity Packages for visitors looking to add something special on this trip, or to just round out their camping supplies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins Hotel Lassen Volcanic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanita Lake Camping Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.