We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lassen National Park - best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Lassen

Mount Lassen
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
916-595-4444
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Volcanos
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This mountain is a beautifully rewarding hike for the novice.
Fernley, NV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lassen National Park - best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great National Park to visit! Not as crowded as Yosemite and easy to get to. The park is well maintained with very knowledgeable rangers and volunteers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I have to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me here this month. It is breathtaking. Was still some snow on the ground but it was absolutely stunning scenery. Definitely worth the drive through the park. We have a National Park pass that gets us into all the National Parks and we are going to go to this park many more times.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Another Great National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent part of our vacation visiting National Parks. Again we were not disappointed with the National Park system. This park appears less traveled than others we visited. It is none this less worthwhile. Due to time constraints we did the drive through & were happy we took the time to see the park. We toured the park in mid - June & were able to see it without snow interruption. The views were spectacular & we stopped to see the bubbling sulfur springs. There a a lot of twists & turns but the views made up for it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and educational too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful National Park off the beaten path so less crowded than California's other National Parks. Plenty of choices for all ages and interests. Take a drive thru, several areas to pull over, park and enjoy the views. Several hiking trails from super easy to extremely challenging. High elevation results in short season, if there is a late snow, park may not be fully plowed until mid June. Informative visitor center with large parking lot that can accommodate all RV's, also several tent camping sites adjacent to parking area with restrooms and water access. Perfect for the entire family! Lake Almanor (one of California's best kept secrets) is about a 45 minute drive, offering unlimited accommodation choices including hotels, vacation rentals (private homes), cabins, tent and RV sites. You won't be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honomu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great park - driving or hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The park offers awesome views on the scenic drive through the park. Unfortunately, it also has a very short season for hiking. We visited in June and all the trails were still closed by snow. Also, many of the hikes are fairly long. We can't wait to get back in late summer and do some hiking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Lassen also viewed

Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 

Been to Mount Lassen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Lassen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Lassen to your Saves list