We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reach the Peak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Lassen

Mount Lassen
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
916-595-4444
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mountain is a beautifully rewarding hike for the novice.
Terre Haute
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Reach the Peak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We timed our road trip to make sure the trail would be open to the peak. It has been undergoing maintenance for a couple years and will last for possibly a couple more (thru 2014) so the last 0.9 mile was closed most of the summer hiking season.

There's nothing particularly interesting about the trail itself other than the various views you are afforded as you ascend Lassen Peak. It's clear the trail will be nicer once their project is done, but there's nothing difficult about it now aside from the elevation gain. That was a bit much for my son (14 at the time) who isn't in the best shape and this was our first day at elevation, but he stuck to it (I'd already bought him the shirt so he had to - LOL) and 3.5 hours later we were finally at the summit calling mom back home. Views were great when we were there. You could see Mt Shasta in the distance. There was a family skiing down some of the snowfields.

Make sure you're prepared for wind and rain even if it's nice when you start.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    44
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lassen Peak hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We did the hike on Aug 31. The hike itself is very easy, not steep at all and I would have to agree with our youngest a little boring, probably just because it was too easy (we are mid-40s, in average shape, and 2 boys 13 and 9). But when you reach the top and see Mt. Shasta it makes it so worth the time! It takes about 4 hours to go up and back. It wasn't cold at the top although there was still enough snow. The trail is under construction and open to the top only some days, so check nps.gov before planning. And definitely plan it if you are visiting Lassen NP!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“North State Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Compared to most national parks, Lassen Park is uncrowded and unspoiled. It has many beautiful family friendly and more strenuous hikes from both the east and west sides. The new Kohm Ya Ma nee Visitor Center off highway 36 (about an hour east of Red Bluff) is a good place to start. It has interactive exhibits that the kids will love and an excellent movie that explains the park's volcanic history. In Lassen, there are several areas of fumaroles and hot spots. The most crowded is Bumpass Hell, off of the main park highway 89. This highway frequently doesn't open until July due to heavy winter snow. Another volcanic area is available with only an hour or so easy hike through picture-perfect meadows. This area is called Boiling HotSprings and you can reach it through the eastern end of the park/Warner Valley. We've taken hikes here in July and August where we have had great hikes and encountered relatively few other hiking parties. You can check ahead with Drakesbad Guest Ranch and make a reservation for dinner....
Although the drive into the Warner Valley is mostly dirt road, it is worth the time and trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular and low-key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful place for a day's driving excursion, long or short day hike, (Brokoff, Crumbaugh lake, Kings Creek, Bumpas Hell) or long weekend campout.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“wow! great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

such beauty! hikes, sight seeing, bike riding, it was great! we met friends at one of the campgrounds, it had a little store, and was very friendly. hiked to bumpass hill (stinky) but interesting

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Lassen also viewed

Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 

Been to Mount Lassen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Lassen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.