We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bear viewing adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Salmon Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Salmon Creek Lodge
Soldotna, Lake Clark National Park and Preserve, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great bear viewing adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

With many bear sightings, both very near and a bit distant, no one could be dissappointed with their experience at this lodge. Seeing cubs and observing the interaction between the different bears was an unexpected bonus. The fact that the guides were equally excited about so many events reminded us of how special and unique the experience was. It is obvious why this place is a mecca for serious photographers. The excursion to the bird sanctuary was great. The staff were professional and vey helpful. The guides were very knowledgable and diplomatic. Julius, the Head Chef produced fantastic meals and catered for special dietary needs with consumate ease and pleasure. Awareness of the time of the season and appropriate expectations of which particular bear activities for your stay is advised. We look forward to returning in a late season time to see the salmon catching action sometime.

Room Tip: Puffin Perch was very comfortable and well positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a terrific experience at Silver Salmon Creek Lodge in late May. It's early for bears and was a late spring, but we still got lucky and had a few excellent bear sightings. The lodge itself is charming and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay in the lofty Puffin Perch. The weather in Soldotna had been warm, so I neglected to pack sufficient warm clothing especially since it was quite windy on the days we were there. Our guide, Rick, was patient and great. He drove us around in a trailer behind of an ATV and we enjoyed our surroundings while looking for the bears. Once we found one, his knowledge of bear behavior and photography maximized our enjoyment of the experience. We also took a canoe trip in the lake behind the lodge, which was lovely. We nearly ran into a big bear on our walk back to the lodge. The food they cooked for us was exceptional, especially the fantastic clam chowder and chicken salad sandwiches Oliver made for our lunch! We'd love to come back sometime a little later in the season, perhaps in late June/early July when there may be cubs around!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Traveling with 6 other photographers we found SSCL to be fantastic. The opportunity to get so close to the bears and still feel completely safe was fantastic. Dave our guide also being a photographer new how to position us for the best light. Our experience was beyond our expectation. The friendly staff & great cooks topped it off.
We also spent 4 days at brooks falls. Bear photos great but overall not neally as good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Late in August I had the privilege of visiting Anchorage, Alaska, truly the last frontier in the U.S.A. The purpose of my visit was the photograph the great Brown Bears in Alaska's Lake Clark National Park, and to fish for Salmon. Mt group took small single engine planes and we landed on the beach at Lake Clark National Park. We were greeted by the friendly staff of the Silver Salmon Creek Lodge, and taken by all terrain vehicles with our gear to the lodge. The week was truly a wonderful experience. The graciousness of the staff, the quality of the food, and the accommodations were just terrific. The best part of course was the close proximity we were able to photograph the Brown Bears, really great experiences. The fishing was also as good as it can get. I was able to catch the State limit of 2, Salmon on two of the three day's I fished. The friendly staff of the lodge, cleans, filets the fish immediately upon our return from fishing. Then the filet's are vacuum packed, sealed and frozen. I was lucky to bring home about 19 lbs. of frozen Salmon, not to mention the 3,000 plus raw images I took in my visit. The guides were very helpful, both Bear watching and photographing as well as the fishing guide. Above all, everyone, was really friendly and fun to be with. There are not enough good things I can say about the Silver Salmon Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: You need foul weather gear, plus read about weather condition in Alaska for that time of year. Laye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The lodge owners could not be nicer. David and Joanne make sure you have everything you need. The meals are excellent. Lodging good and the staff is great. We were able to see bears regularly - even occasionally in the camp. An excellent place to photograph bears.

Room Tip: We liked the Halibut Hut.Sits alone with a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I completely echo everything highlighted in the existing reviews. This lodge, the owners, the guides and the entire staff are just outstanding. The bear and fishing guides are so knowledgeable! Everyone one at the lodge was friendly and accomodated any requests, such as "no seafood" at meals. I would absolutely recommend this destination to anyone interested in wildlife viewing and fishing. This trip far exceeded our expectations!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

What an Adventure! We stayed at SSCL for 3 days in July and had a great experience. We arrived around 10:30 and by 11:00 we were out on the beach with around 10 bears. Most were digging for clams. At first we felt a uneasy with an 800 lb bear about 75 feet away, but we soon became very comfortable around them. Dave (our guide) would take us out 3 times a day for anywhere from 1 hour to 4 hours. Each time we would travel in different directions and would end up viewing different bears or eagles. I can't say enough about Dave and the Staff. The food was good basic camp food. Our cabin was very comfortable.

If you enjoy wildlife or natural beauty you will love SSCL. One of the best photo opportunities you could have for wildlife!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Salmon Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Salmon Creek Lodge

Address: Soldotna, Lake Clark National Park and Preserve, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lake Clark National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Silver Salmon Creek Hotel Lake Clark National Park And Preserve
Silver Salmon Creek Lodge Alaska/Lake Clark National Park And Preserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Salmon Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silver Salmon Creek Lodge to your Saves list