We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than portage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exit Glacier

Exit Glacier
Exit Glacier Road, Kenai Fjords National Park, AK
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Exit Glacier like an insider
Top Rated
$163*
and up
Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hike up the well-maintained path to the top of the glacier.
Soldotna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than portage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You used to be able to walk up and touch the glacier. Now they have a rope to keep you a few feet away but its still spectacular to walk right up to the glacier. There is a hiking trail to the top of the glacier with awesome views but it can be really muddy and has some very steep sections.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    73
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great mostly easy hike to the side of a glacier. As you approach the glacier signs show you where the toe of glacier was on various dates. Amazing how much it has receded in the last 100 years.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The Only Glacier in Walking Distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

There are many glaciers in various places, but Exit Glacier in Seward, Alaska is the only one in walking/rolling distance from the parking lot. Portage Glacier used to be in that same category (when I was a kid), but it has receded so much that now any glacier explorer must take a boat (and pay) to see the glacier. Exit Glacier is well worth the price (free) and the mild to moderate hike/walk/roll to the natural viewing area. For safety's sake, please stay within the "viewing area." Like all glaciers, this one too, is prone to calving.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First hike in Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went to pick blueberries when I first moved here at a location that a friend mapped out for me.... found them, PLUS Exit Glacier! I was amazed. The short leisurly hike was fitting and I had an incredible time, for FREE! This is what I like about Alaska. there are so many things to do and see that are free, and then you have funds for the things that aren't and you pack in a trip that friends are envious of!
gGreat place for a sunny day hike and a picnic lunch. And NO, I am not telling where the blueberries are!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hike to view Exit Glacier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited Kenai Fjords National Park in June. Beautiful location, nice trails to view Exit Glacier, and very knowledgeable Park Rangers. The drive along Seward Highway was full of gorgeous scenery and a few moose sightings.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exit Glacier also viewed

 
Kenai Fjords National Park, AK
 

Been to Exit Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exit Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.