We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Desert Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sacred Sands
Save
You added Sacred Sands to your Saves list
63155 Quail Springs Road, HC1 Box 1071 A, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92252   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Desert Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The service is understated and respectful. The rooms (only 2) are wonderful. No TV , No clocks just luxurious bed and bath.The Inside shower has three different shower heads and a hand laid river rock floor. The bed, bed sheets and towels top quality but what makes the room is the back yard. The yard comes with a outdoor shower, excellent two person jacuzzi tub and a futon meditation platform/bed. The views from your room of the high desert just one mile from the entrance to the national park are spectacular.
The food is amazing. Scoot and Steve are terrific cooks. Two of the best breakfasts my wife and I have had. If you want peace, luxury and the high desert experience this is the place!

Room Tip: Book early, both rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
socal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This trip was for my birthday -- just when you think your man doesn't listen to you -- he plans something for your birthday that meets or exceeds all of your needs (could it be he is listening after all?)

The Sacred Sands is a gem in the desert.

The architecture is amazing -- contemporary with rustic touches, indigenous to its surrounding yet it is a standout -- exquisitely designed -- you can tell the Architect spent a lot of time on the land while she was designing -- the buildings are planned to capture every gentle breeze and every sunset perfectly -- it is just beautifully designed.

We arrived late -- stuck in rotten Friday night traffic -- and our hosts Steve and Scott were so gracious to allow for our later than normal check in time. Our suite was lovely -- no phone, no television -- just the sounds of crickets and coyotes to lull you to sleep.

The outdoor tub for 2 is a dream -- filled with essential oils and Epsom Salts -- I loved the pebbles under my feet while showering outdoors in the morning. A little breezy but the delicious robes took the chill off right away. The indoor shower was huge and we enjoyed that as well and all the bath amenities. Everything was immaculate -- you would never know another guest stayed before us.

Scott and Steve were more than happy to accommodate our desire for a very late breakfast each morning and the breakfasts were prepared with love and consideration -- every detail attended to and absolutely amazing -- THE BEST MOLE we've ever had! (still wanting that recipe). We enjoyed the great conversations we had each morning over breakfast.

We slept for hours, took a bike ride in the park (only a mile up the road), shopped at vintage stores in Joshua Tree and hung out with the locals at the Saloon just down the road.

It was the perfect and most relaxing and romantic trip we've had in so long -- we will definitely be back to experience this little slice of zen again!

Thank you guys for allowing us to be part of the magic you've created -- you are touching the lives of all that stay with you!

Room Tip: book as far in advance as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

One of the best long weekend stays my husband and I have ever spent. We arrived at Sacred Sands from NYC and were floored not only by the beauty of the desert, but also by the beauty of Sacred Sands itself. The rooms, outdoor spaces, and common indoor space are all soulfully and elegantly designed and attended to with incredible care. The decor is exquisitely beautiful and every inch of space impeccably clean. We especially loved the outdoor hot tub with mountain views. My husband and I felt that all of our senses were attended to, from the aroma of rosemary scented oil when we entered our room, to the delicious breakfasts we ate each morning in the company of our gracious and nurturing hosts. Scott and Steve treated us with tremendous care and kindness--thoughtfully selecting perfect hikes for us each day and even providing aloe for my unexpected sunburn after our first trip into the Joshua Tree National Park. They are truly truly gifted at what they do and genuinely lovely and nurturing people. Can't recommend highly enough. We will definitely make another visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Scott and Steve have thought of everything from the outdoor platform bed complete with blankets and pillows for gazing at the stars to the 2 person outdoor spa filled with salts and oils to rest your weary bones after a day of hiking in the desert. The breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start off the day before a long hike. They had great recommendations for hikes and destinations seemingly knowing immediately what type of activity would suit us best. I look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I traveled from the east coast for a long weekend last month at Sacred Sands. It is truly an otherwordly retreat. The amazing architecture and decor, combined with the surrounding environment bring an almost instant sense of peace and relaxation. The spectacular national park is only a mile away, and it's a hiking/climbing/photographers paradise. The outdoor hot tub is spacious, luxurious, and the best thing I can imagine after a long hike in the park. Scott and Steve begin each day with a phenomenal breakfast, and they offer great advice on where to eat lunch or dinner in the area. I can't say enough great things about what they have created and the experience there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

My husband and I selected Sacred Sands based on reviews. We were not let down. The place was a beautiful, tranquil retreat. You truly felt at home, and Scott and Steve were great hosts. They were around as much or as little as you wanted, knew all the local places to eat, and had great information on the parks. My husband and I had thought about going into the park for a hike, but was so enamored with the hot tub and platform bed that we spent almost all day, everyday in our room. The breakfasts that S&S prepared were so delicious! You didn't even notice how healthy they were :-)! If you're considering trying Sacred Sands out, I'd say go for it! You'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heathrow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011 via mobile

Having read the reviews we booked a 2 night stay but felt it was impossible to 'wow' such seasoned travellers such as ourselves - we were wrong! This place is awesome - our only regret was not having booked a longer stay, Steve & Scott have created a magical retreat in a wonderful location - can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacred Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Sands

Address: 63155 Quail Springs Road, HC1 Box 1071 A, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92252
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sacred Sands Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.