We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fun at Jumbo Rocks Campground - Joshua Tree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Rocks Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jumbo Rocks Campground
Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome fun at Jumbo Rocks Campground - Joshua Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went for the meteor showers in August.... camped at Jumbo Rocks, which is one of the larger campgrounds inside Joshua Tree. It's absolutely beautiful there. Hiking is fun, there's so many trails to follow and climbing the rocks is an adventure. The kids loved it. There are bathrooms, no showers, and we stayed in a tent this time. We have a motorhome, but it's too big to bring inside Joshua Tree. The limit is 35 feet I was told at the main gate. I believe we had to pay $10 for the campsite and also paid an entrance fee, which I can't remember how much that was, but it's a deal. I would go again, but you know what, the Government is closing all State Parks right now, so not sure when Joshua Tree will be open again....but the meteor showers are again this month, so I hope they open soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came in the summer (mid-June) and knew it would be hot. We arrived late afternoon and stayed until late morning - but had most of the campsite to ourselves. We basically spread ourselves over 3 sites, and it was sublime to go to sleep and wake up among the rock beings. Came w our 4 year old who loved it.

We couldn't quite imagine what it would be like full in high season - the sites were fairly tight, so definitely a different experience.

I like the feeling of being alone in nature, so this was a perfect time to

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had not seen Joshua trees before my visit, so it made things interesting for me. This is a very beautiful national park it is nearly 800,000 acres, A large part of the park is a designated wilderness area. There are several hiking trails within the park, many of which can be accessed from a campground, if you hike through Hidden Valley you can view the beauty of the park without straying too far into the desert. Make sure to go to the lookout point at Keys View, towards the south of the park, from here you will see the Coachella Valley and Salton Sea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is an incredable, natural place to camp that would be every boys dream place to camp. And I've heard more than one visitor refer to it as "Bedrock".....the fictitious city of the Flintstones.

This campground is as clean as any as I've ever been to and equally quiet and peaceful! There are clean pit toilets and trash/recycle bins but no RV dump at this particular campground.

It's first come, first serve and there's been at least a few sites available every time we've been there. Be sure to drive out to Keys View for an incredable view of the Palm Springs valley......even part of the Salton Sea is visable (the best time is right after a rain, when it's clear skys).

We've been through there several times on our motorcycles, in the summer months and it was mostly tent campers. However, we just spent a couple of nights there this month (Jan.) and it was mostly small RVs. We stopped by there with our 5th wheel on our return trip from the RV rally in Quartzsite, Ariz. but we weren't alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Over 40 years ago, my family and I would make our annual Memorial weekend trek to this amazing place. Yesterday I relived those wonderful memories again. Although we just drove through the camp site, because we were spending the week in palm springs, it was still as primitive and beautiful and I remembered.
My son, his friend and myself decided to take a ride out the Joshue Tree to see the sunset. We entered from the south and we treated to the differing landscapes as we traveled. The goal was Cap Rock ( and the sunset) since Kevin is a Gram Parsons fan as is his dad who encouraged this trip. Time got away from us ( must have been the various stops along the way to just take in the scenery and read some of the exhibit signs and of course climb the huge rock piles along the way) and as the sun was setting we pulled over and hiked across the gorgeous rocks making it in time to experience the serene and awe inspiring sun setting....
Then it was off to Cap Rock for star gazing. With an evening temperature of 78 we could not have asked for more.
It was all and more of my expectations from memories as a teenager..


A truly magical place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is our favorite place to camp anywhere. Camped here when we lived in California. Still camp here now that we live in Texas. It's that great! Kids and adults love scrambling over the house size boulders. Campfire shadows that dance on the rocks at night. Coyotes howling at night. Sunsets that leave you in awe. Stay for 2 nights. Doesn't matter how fabulous a trip we've had prior to getting to Jumbo Rocks, kids (and adults) think this is the highlight overall. Everyone who likes to camp should experience this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm cove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

only positives +

one of the best sunsets ive ever seen
rocks are awesome for climbing.
like entourage when they go to the desert

its a fair drive but definitely worth it. watch out for the coyotes at night ;)

Room Tip: you just camp here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jumbo Rocks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Rocks Campground

Address: Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277
Location: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Joshua Tree National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the park, the campground offers good rock climbing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jumbo Rocks Campground Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Rocks Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jumbo Rocks Campground to your Saves list