We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've been watching Bedrock everysince watching the Flintstones” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Rocks Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Jumbo Rocks Campground
Save Saved
You added Jumbo Rocks Campground to your Saves list
Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“I've been watching Bedrock everysince watching the Flintstones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is an incredable, natural place to camp that would be every boys dream place to camp. And I've heard more than one visitor refer to it as "Bedrock".....the fictitious city of the Flintstones.

This campground is as clean as any as I've ever been to and equally quiet and peaceful! There are clean pit toilets and trash/recycle bins but no RV dump at this particular campground.

It's first come, first serve and there's been at least a few sites available every time we've been there. Be sure to drive out to Keys View for an incredable view of the Palm Springs valley......even part of the Salton Sea is visable (the best time is right after a rain, when it's clear skys).

We've been through there several times on our motorcycles, in the summer months and it was mostly tent campers. However, we just spent a couple of nights there this month (Jan.) and it was mostly small RVs. We stopped by there with our 5th wheel on our return trip from the RV rally in Quartzsite, Ariz. but we weren't alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Over 40 years ago, my family and I would make our annual Memorial weekend trek to this amazing place. Yesterday I relived those wonderful memories again. Although we just drove through the camp site, because we were spending the week in palm springs, it was still as primitive and beautiful and I remembered.
My son, his friend and myself decided to take a ride out the Joshue Tree to see the sunset. We entered from the south and we treated to the differing landscapes as we traveled. The goal was Cap Rock ( and the sunset) since Kevin is a Gram Parsons fan as is his dad who encouraged this trip. Time got away from us ( must have been the various stops along the way to just take in the scenery and read some of the exhibit signs and of course climb the huge rock piles along the way) and as the sun was setting we pulled over and hiked across the gorgeous rocks making it in time to experience the serene and awe inspiring sun setting....
Then it was off to Cap Rock for star gazing. With an evening temperature of 78 we could not have asked for more.
It was all and more of my expectations from memories as a teenager..


A truly magical place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is our favorite place to camp anywhere. Camped here when we lived in California. Still camp here now that we live in Texas. It's that great! Kids and adults love scrambling over the house size boulders. Campfire shadows that dance on the rocks at night. Coyotes howling at night. Sunsets that leave you in awe. Stay for 2 nights. Doesn't matter how fabulous a trip we've had prior to getting to Jumbo Rocks, kids (and adults) think this is the highlight overall. Everyone who likes to camp should experience this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm cove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

only positives +

one of the best sunsets ive ever seen
rocks are awesome for climbing.
like entourage when they go to the desert

its a fair drive but definitely worth it. watch out for the coyotes at night ;)

Room Tip: you just camp here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend for my birthday with friends and family and all I can say is that I would go back in a heartbeat. Specifically, I would stay at this campground. We had read a number of other visitor's reviews, which drew us here in the first place, and it truly didn't disappoint. We stayed and sites 22, 23 and 24 and it was a great collection of sites for a larger group. Honestly, though, you can't go wrong with any of the sites so don't stress about getting the "perfect" site. Your costs for staying here are $15 to enter the Joshua Tree National Park (which is valid for 7 days....just keep your receipt). The site fees are $10 per site per night. Be sure to bring exact cash because there is no ranger station that takes your money and gives you change...it's self service.

As for hikes, we went to the Lost Palms Oasis hike which is a three-mile round trip. It's a nice hike because the way there is mostly uphill leaving you an easy downhill coming back. The payoff is a random Oasis of Palm Trees (hence the name) that appears in the middle of the desert. There are a couple other hikes I would have like to try but we'll definitely go back.

Each site at the campground, by the way, has a picnic table and firepit. There are also bathrooms staggered around the campgrounds which are glorified port-o-potties. Nothing fancy but it does the trick.

The beauty of this place is the evening. As the sun goes down and the colors set in, get to higher ground on one of the many rocks around and you'll be in for a treat.

One last thing...the campgrounds allow dogs but you just need to keep them on leash at all times. They are not allowed on the official trails but there is plenty of terrain around the campground to take your puppy to let him or her explore.

Enjoy your Trip!!!!!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We camped out here with sleeping bags and roll mats (no tents!) and there were several other groups around us. We climbed on top of a large flat boulder and spent the night under the full moon. Never spent the night anywhere so peaceful or gorgeous nor woken up to such a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Boulders are more comfortable than you might think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We LOVED this campground. It is nestled between huge rocks which you can scramble upon and which also do a pretty good job of blocking the wind. The campsites are large and the surface is relatively soft - particularly for a desert environment. Most importantly, it is located smack dab in the middle of the park making it a great place from which to base your explorations and hikes. One warning - it gets very cold here in the winter. Take the forecast low from Twentynine Palms and subtract about 15 degrees. So dress warmly, bring some firewood, and get read to have one of most spectacular views of the night sky that you've ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumbo Rocks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Rocks Campground

Address: Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277
Location: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Joshua Tree National Park
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the park, the campground offers good rock climbing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jumbo Rocks Campground Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Rocks Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.