We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views that never end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Rocks Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Jumbo Rocks Campground
Save Saved
You added Jumbo Rocks Campground to your Saves list
Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views that never end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend for my birthday with friends and family and all I can say is that I would go back in a heartbeat. Specifically, I would stay at this campground. We had read a number of other visitor's reviews, which drew us here in the first place, and it truly didn't disappoint. We stayed and sites 22, 23 and 24 and it was a great collection of sites for a larger group. Honestly, though, you can't go wrong with any of the sites so don't stress about getting the "perfect" site. Your costs for staying here are $15 to enter the Joshua Tree National Park (which is valid for 7 days....just keep your receipt). The site fees are $10 per site per night. Be sure to bring exact cash because there is no ranger station that takes your money and gives you change...it's self service.

As for hikes, we went to the Lost Palms Oasis hike which is a three-mile round trip. It's a nice hike because the way there is mostly uphill leaving you an easy downhill coming back. The payoff is a random Oasis of Palm Trees (hence the name) that appears in the middle of the desert. There are a couple other hikes I would have like to try but we'll definitely go back.

Each site at the campground, by the way, has a picnic table and firepit. There are also bathrooms staggered around the campgrounds which are glorified port-o-potties. Nothing fancy but it does the trick.

The beauty of this place is the evening. As the sun goes down and the colors set in, get to higher ground on one of the many rocks around and you'll be in for a treat.

One last thing...the campgrounds allow dogs but you just need to keep them on leash at all times. They are not allowed on the official trails but there is plenty of terrain around the campground to take your puppy to let him or her explore.

Enjoy your Trip!!!!!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We camped out here with sleeping bags and roll mats (no tents!) and there were several other groups around us. We climbed on top of a large flat boulder and spent the night under the full moon. Never spent the night anywhere so peaceful or gorgeous nor woken up to such a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Boulders are more comfortable than you might think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We LOVED this campground. It is nestled between huge rocks which you can scramble upon and which also do a pretty good job of blocking the wind. The campsites are large and the surface is relatively soft - particularly for a desert environment. Most importantly, it is located smack dab in the middle of the park making it a great place from which to base your explorations and hikes. One warning - it gets very cold here in the winter. Take the forecast low from Twentynine Palms and subtract about 15 degrees. So dress warmly, bring some firewood, and get read to have one of most spectacular views of the night sky that you've ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. San Diego County
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had always wanted to camp at Joshua Tree. Jumbo Rocks campground did not disappoint! We went on the spur of the moment on a Saturday morning last month, and arrived around noon. Not so many sites left at that hour so I would recommend getting there earlier. The campsites were all nice.....but some we like better than others. I have my sights set on #6 next time (we're headed back in March).

We stayed at #20 and #21. Huge, climbable boulders on the site. The sites were so clean. For one night we went through 5 bundles of fire wood. 4 gallons of water (1 per person). There is no store anywhere close so bring what you need. The bathrooms were surprisingly clean for pit toilets. No showers. So many evening stars!!!!

The Skull Rock nature trail was a nice walk. Visit this beautiful place.....you will love it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Jumbo Rocks offers some of the best camping in Joshua Tree. I love to set up camp and get some hiking in before the sun sets and the stars come out. Check out www.joshuatreecamping.org for more great info on Joshua Tree Camping!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 2 day camping adventure in Joshua Tree National Park and this is FOR SURE the place to stay if you're tent camping in the park. The scenery is gorgeous and there are large rocks everyone to scramble on. Many areas are very easy to climb/walk up. This is truly a wonderful and unique place unlike any other. The sunrise and sunset views are unbelievable. HIGHLY recommend site #89 - it had everything you could want - plus it could easily fit the 3 tent max. We camped in December and the place was practically empty. FYI - no water, pit toilets. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I just got back from my weekend camping to trip to JTNP at Jumbo Rock campground and it was one of my favorite trips! First off I went to joshua tree because it was close to where I live only around 2 1/2 hours away from orange county and because its open all year round. I have never been to JTNP before so I did research and decided on jumbo rock, the giant round boulders that cover the landscape are absolutely beautiful and can only be describe as a Hollywood back drop for the Flintstones. We arrived around 1:00pm on Friday and I was a little surprised on how full it was, I would guess around 90% occupied only to be completely filled just a few hours later. We got a decent camp spot right next to the amphitheater which didn't provide much protection from the freezing cold wind that would hit us the first night. No water at the campground, so make sure you bring lots of water, bathroom is a hole in the ground but is surprisingly very clean. This being the desert I didn't expect it to be so beautiful, I will defiantly be returning very soon!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumbo Rocks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Rocks Campground

Address: Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277
Location: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Joshua Tree National Park
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the park, the campground offers good rock climbing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jumbo Rocks Campground Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Rocks Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.