We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sunset spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keys View

Keys View
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lookout point located a couple of thousand feet above Joshua Tree National Park that provides incredible views of sunrise and sunset.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best sunset spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are in the park around sunset time, do stop by here. It is one of the best sunset's we have ever seen. We went here in January. Even though it was not cold in rest of the park area, it was very windy here and got really cold. So please do have enough warm clothing if you are here for sunset in winter. Wait for 10-20 minutes after the sun goes down to see the dramatic skies. We were able to see the sun rays come from behind mountains and it was such a beautiful sight. Not sure if it happens with every sunset, but we were happy we stayed around in spite of the nasty winds! Highly recommend this place, especially if you are into photography or into sunsets like us!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    50
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a quick stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was expecting better views from here. The valley below was hazy from all the smog blowing in from the city. Got to see a part of Salton Sea and the San Andres fault from here. Nothing too spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“San Andreas Fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Amazing view of the San Andreas fault, a must for geology and science enthusiasts. It can be windy and cold so bring extra layers so you can enjoy the views in comfort.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Go for sunset! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Best place to go and see the sunset in the park- fabulous views across the desert towards San jacinto mountains, you can see mexico on a clear night! Very very cold in winter so take plenty of layers to wear while you're watching. Easy to access, plenty of parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Different kind of sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went that place on a sunny day but it's still cloudy on the west. So not too much of a clear sunset as I expected. but if you are into sunset glow then it's definitely a good spot, many photographers are there holding their valuable machine. You could climb a little bit down if you don't have Acrophobia since it's really a steep cliff. But you could get perfect spot there. Waiting the sunset in that place is peaceful and comfortable. But don't forget to bring clothes cause the weather gets incredibly freezing cold right after the sunset, especially for children.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys View also viewed

Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
 
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
 

Been to Keys View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keys View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.