We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Wish I Could have Canceled” 1 of 5 stars
Review of At the Craters Edge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added At the Craters Edge to your Saves list
At the Craters Edge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   11-3802 Twelfth St/PO Box 205, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEWARE: Wish I Could have Canceled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Unfortunately I was fooled by the favorable reviews of At the Crater's Edge and booked 3 nights here. Unlike all of the other hotels we made reservations at throughout our vacation, this place charged us immediately and appears to have the strictest of cancellation policies (presumably to prevent people from either turning away immediately pin arriving or from canceling the rest of their stay after 1 night.)
Upon our arrival, we received unquestionably the least friendly, least considerate reception we've ever had at any hotel (or hostel) that we've stayed at (and there have been hundreds) around the world. With ZERO hospitality, we were told that the room was not ready and that checkin wasn't until 3:00. Expecting an invitation to at least stow our luggage or have a seat and connect to their wifi until the room was ready, we were basically run off for 2 hours. I understand that establishments have checkin in times, but this establishment apparently has no empathy or concern for the exhausted traveller or for the convenience of their guests.
When we finally saw our room, oh boy, was it a disappointment. These rooms have NO AIR CONDITIONING, which they rationalize by citing the semi cool outdoor temperatures. Apparently nobody could possibly need AC in Hawaii in June. These rooms have NO LIGHT BLOCKING CURTAINS, only sheers. So plan on waking at sunrise and falling asleep at sunset. This is, of course, if you are able to even sleep at all with ALL OF THE LOUDLY BARKING DOGS which apparently surround the property. We were told that people around At the Crater's Edge have guard dogs, and that they bark, and there's nothing that can be done about it. Again, unbelievably, no regard for the comfort or concerns of their guests. Dogs bark, just get over it.

So in order to try to catch a breeze, you must have your window/doors open (the screens do not block out all the bugs BTW.) This eliminates any of the door's sound insulation, which I can only assume is why the dogs sound as loud as they do. Pack earplugs....and a sleep mask. Light sleeps need to look elsewhere as should anyone who wants to enjoy themselves on this side of the island. This establishment is approximately 27 miles from Hilo and there is very limited dining options in the immediate vicinity. At half of the price they charge for a room here, it would still be too high.....the rooms are glorified gazebos with beds and bathtubs.
I can only assume that the favorable reviews for this place are a result of confirmation bias or honeymoon nostalgia. Objectively speaking, there are far better options than At the Crater's Edge. I suggest you keep looking and find one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We selected this place because it was close to Volcanoes Natl Park and Hilo. It was just about two miles from the park and about a mile from the very small town of Volcano. So for us, the location was just right.

This place is very unique in a beautiful jungle-like setting. It is a private property with a main house and two separate guest cottages. Our front cottage was spotless and decorated in a very unique and romantic way. Two full exterior walls of our room were glass, so privacy may be an issue when the caretakers or other guests walk by, but this was really not a problem for us. We were so amazed by the surroundings, that we welcomed the view.

I see what others are saying about wondering if this is really a B&B. I say it is not. Think of it as an amazing guestroom provided by friends who then just leave you alone. The room was stocked with utensils, glasses, plates, bowls, beverages, coffee, fresh fruit, cereals, banana bread, fresh water, yogurts. This made it a bit difficult to manage the food cleanup. I was not expecting to have to rinse dishes or separate out my recyclables at the rate we were paying.

This is definitely a place to write home about; however it would behoove the caretakers to do daily pick up and replenishing of clean utensils, so guests feel a bit more pampered for the $$.

Room Tip: No pool. Just an amazing jacuzzi in a jungle setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We thought we were staying at a place close to the volcano, but it was a long way from the crater, the national park, and the little village.
The place is quiet and rather secluded. The room was nice, but the bed was a jump off the floor for me.
My stomach got upset one day and I wondered if it was the water in the glass container.
It really would be nice to have the water in bottles or someway to know that it was glean and filtered.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My only complaint was that it was difficult to get up the stairs to get to the unit we stayed in.
The property has great potential yet lacked something for my personality. The rooms are set up like hotel rooms and not like a B&B. It was confusing to us if the place was a hotel with two rooms or a B&B with no real breakfast. Bizarre.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The rooms are beautifully appointed and feel luxurious. This is especially apprecaited after a hot and/or rainy day of hiking around the volcanic. The gas fireplace is delightful as is the hot tub; especially after a cooler wet day. The hosts are gracious and purposefully unobtrusive to provide privacy to guests. Breakfast is stocked in the rooms (cereals, yogurt, banana bread, etc); there is no hot breakfast. All in all, a delightful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just left the Craters Edge after 2 nights exploring Volcanoes National Park. It was the perfect base, only 10 mins from the park and from Volcano village where there are a number of places to eat including Thai Thai restaurant which was so good we went both nights. The Craters Edge is just 2 rooms, very private and quiet with everything you could need. There is a fully stocked mini fridge with drinks and snacks (all complementary) with cereals, milk and lovely banana bread. Drinking water, teas and coffee are also provided. The place is completely off the grid and very Eco friendly, recycling is encouraged. The bathroom is modern and has a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. Toiletries are provided as are flash lights, umbrellas and beach mats. Everything was super clean. We did not use the spa but it looked good with a small steam room and hot tub, all in a private covered deck at the back of the property. The caretakers, Jay and Jason were helpful and friendly although we saw very little of them as we were out all day at the park. Only cons were lack of drawer/hanging space (I hate living out of my suitcase), a lumpy mattress and occasional barking from the neighbors German Shepherd dogs... none of which would prevent me visiting again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Canyon, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked a night here through a travel agent and wished we had spent more time! It is a two room property that is adjacent to a private residence, kinda a bed and breakfast type. it is nestled in a rainforest setting with floor to ceiling windows. Very calm, serene and private. In the room, we were greeted with fresh Hawaiian fruit, and homemade banana bread. The refrigerator was stocked with drinks and snacks. Along a wooden pathway there is a spa, we went in a 6 in the morning (not yet adjusted to the HI time) and it was amazing, it was a little bit drizzly and the setting was perfect for couples. I HIGHLY recommend if you are planning a trip to visit the Hawaii Volcanos National Park, you stay here, it is only a mile from the park entrance. I will definitely stay here the next time I stay on the Big Island!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to At the Craters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Craters Edge

Address: 11-3802 Twelfth St/PO Box 205, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — At the Craters Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New, Contemporary cedar and glass architect designed home nestled into the native rainforest outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Suites with Fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, Canopy beds avail, Most have Kings. Outdoor sauna and hot tub. Beautiful furnishings and linens,Romantic, private setting. In room coffee and tropical fruit, coupon for llight breakfast at local cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your At the Craters Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Craters Edge Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
At The Craters Edge Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At the Craters Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.