We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Mililani, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I love visiting the Volcano National Park and there’s no better place to stay (on the entire island) than KMC. This past trip was my third visit and it was once again fantastic. You get amazing access to the park by staying here. I clear most trails looong before the first tourist bus pulls up. Plus it’s a short drive to the lava flow/ocean entry point at Kalapana.

Don’t let the ‘rustic’ outside fool you – the cabins are amazing. I booked a one bedroom apartment with jacuzzi but. After a full day of hiking the tub is a lifesaver. Higher rank means higher rent here, but it’s still the best deal anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    59
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

As this is a military camp, one can only book it if one is either military, or as a guest of a member of the military.
Please look into it, it is so worth it!
This camp is a historical monument, which means it has the real character of a family camp from the 1930's, sort of like the camp in Dirty Dancing but much more peaceful.
The cabins all come with fireplaces (yes, in Hawaii!), a mini fridge, a microwave, a coffee-maker, flashlights and umbrellas. There are also dorms for groups larger than 4-5. The camp itself has a breakfast buffet building, a rec center, a shopette, a post office, a play area for little kids, a gas station, and plenty of parking. Everything is on a smaller scale, except the parking stalls which are huge by Hawaii standards!
The weather is delicious (bring a sweater), and the volcanos are so close, but not scarily so.
It is VERY dark at night, but everything on the Big Island is because of the international observatories up on Mauna Kea.

  • Liked — the location and the weather
  • Disliked — the staff aren't in a hurry to answer the phone late at night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

KMC is a military (retired or active) only location. It is inside Volcanoes National Park. KMC is a fully contained military camp, complete with tennis courts, bowling alley, small grocery store, bar, cafe, recreation center. Tours can be booked through the reception desk. Cabins vary in size and rate depending upon rank/rate. A two bedroom cabin may have 1.5 baths, full kitchen, flat screen TV, baseboard heat, fireplace. Internet connection is available for purchase in the cabins. There is no A/C (open the windows). The camp is located at the 4,000' level so a jacket (rainproof) may be required.
KMC is perfectly located for exploring the volcano area, or just relaxing as it is a bit remote, very quiet at night and in the morning.
The cafe is fairly basic but there are other dining opportunites around Volcanoes village. Try the Kilauea Lodge for the best food on the island (bring your wallet).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We arrived thinking it would be lovely and rustic. It was. On the outside. Inside our cabin was beautiful with a fireplace, hot tub, Tiffany-style lighting, and more. Whatever things you may need : flashlights, umbrella, etc... was provided in the cabin. The restaurant wasn't the greatest and the commissary is basically a convenience store, but who cares? The location was amazing, the staff was friendly, the gas was $.30 cheaper than in Kona or Hilo, and it was wonderfully romantic. We plan to go back in the future and stay longer. What an awesome place!

  • Liked — all the wonderful amenities of our cabin
  • Disliked — choice of onsite restaurants
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NE
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

My wife and I stayed here with our friends and twin 6 year old girls for 2 nights during our Big Island vacation. Kilauea Military Camp is a totally charming property set in Volcanos National Park. If you are here to see the volcano, you can't do much better than this, especially for the price! We had a 4 bedroom cabin with a fireplace. There were TV's in the living room and the bedroom. Everything was very clean. The employees were all very friendly and there is a small general store where you can buy snacks, sundries and souveniers for a very reasonable price. There is even a gas station with prices a little cheaper than out in town. They offed cafeteria style food, but there are some great restaurants in Volcano Village just outside the park, and we also drove into Hilo (about 40 min down the mountain) several times and made some awesome restaurant finds there, too.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our Big Island vacation. Kilauea Military Camp is a totally charming property set in Volcanos National Park. If you are here to see the volcano, you can't do much better than this, especially for the price! We had a 1 bedroom cabin with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. There were TV's in the living room and the bedroom. Everything was very clean and we paid $14 for the week to have an unlimited high-speed internet connection. The employees were all very friendly and there is a small general store where you can buy snacks, sundries and souveniers for a very reasonable price.
There is even a gas station with prices a little cheaper than out in town. I did get a little sick of their cafeteria style food after the first couple of days, but there are some great restaurants in Volcano Village just outside the park, and we also drove into Hilo (about 40 min down the mountain) several times and made some awesome restaurant finds there, too.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

First, a reality check: I was not expecting anything fancy at KMC, but I was expecting sheets that didn't have holes in them and towels that smelled so musty they were unusable. The cottages are older and not as clean as I'd like (there was hair all over the bathroom floor). Our bed was, quite simply, the worst bed I've ever slept on - we would have been better off had we brought an air mattress with us.

That said, our 3-bedroom cottage was quiet, spacious, and the full kitchen saved us a ton of money on groceries. We also loved the fireplace although wood is $8.50/bundle, very wet and the bundles vary from 3-8 pieces. The blackout drapes were great and allowed us total darkness and privacy if necessary.

If KMC were located anywhere else, this would be a 2-3 star review. However, you are paying for the location, which is truly unique. You are several minutes from the caldera and the isolation of the camp is wonderful. The grocery store at the camp has surprisingly reasonable prices for groceries (and a good selection). Also, the staff is exceedingly friendly and cheerful.

Overall, KMC is a great value and the location is world-class. I will stay here again but I will consider buying a cheap air mattress and sheets in case the bed is still terrible and will be prepared to do some of my own cleaning.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Volcano Military Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilauea Volcano Military Camp to your Saves list