We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated with a spooky and eerie vibe...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Save
You added Kilauea Volcano Military Camp to your Saves list
Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dated with a spooky and eerie vibe...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Service goes along with the facility, dated and spooky. We rented the one bedroom, it was small, the jetted bathtub was extremely small with a make-shift shower head. When we pulled out the hideaway bed from the couch, spiders and bugs came out as well with chip crumbs. Just outside of the cottage, we had the pleasure of listening to the local residents two golden retrievers bark almost the entire time we were there. We reserved the cottage for 2 days, but decided we were not happy there so we checked out early, the next day, but we were charged an early check out fee, one night stay... So, if you like staying on an old military "prison" camp on the side of a volcano, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

KMC was a much better value when I was an O1 in the 90s than it is for me now. It is almost at a price point where staying in a warmer location on the coast just makes more sense. That being said, the rooms are clean and nice. The most basic room is an apartment with a bedroom, living room, and large bathroom. I have stayed in most types of rooms (except the group lodging--generally reserved for kids visiting in large groups) and all have been pretty similar. Every room has a fireplace that you can use with a fee for the clean burning logs. Some rooms have jacuzzis. The camp has a camp store which is an okay value for the island, a gas station which has worse prices than in Hilo, a bowling alley that is a lot of fun (play Ring of Fire on the Juke Box while at the bowling alley--it just seems to fit), a Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner dining facility which has mid-range prices, a coffee shop, and the Lava Lounge. The buffet dinner is usually luau food and pretty good, particularly given that it is buffet and all you can eat. The bar tenders at the Lava Lounge are great for conversation and there are frequent hula shows (maybe every Friday night?) There's always a retiree around there to regale you with stories of the military of yesteryear. I generally gravitate toward KMC when I visit the Big Island--location is good for most island activities, but it can get a little depressing in the rainier winter months when it is much colder and wetter there than in Kailua/Kona or Waikaloa. I've stayed at KMC with my mom, my teenage niece, and my boyfriend, none of whom are military, but all have enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Cottages don't seem that different than apartments. Biggest difference is that you can hear you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here three nights while on tour. The location is perfect - inside park and close to everything. Room was very clean and large, actually two rooms and bath, with fireplace, sofa, table and chairs, frig, microwave and a separate bedroom. Bed was basic. Bathroom was huge, but floor was tile and very cold. Had to let water in tub run each day until dark water cleared. Nice laundry, bar, coffee shop. Housekeeping staff was very friendly, but staff members in the dining room were cool for the most part and did not make us feel particularly welcome. Food was adequate at best. Someone had a backpack stolen while using a computer in the lounge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We only spent one night here, but if I ever go back, I will definately stay here again. It is within the park and only 1 mile from the Jaggar Museum. The grounds are well maintained. The buildings are WWII era, but ours was a renovated 2 bedroom. It was spacious, clean and quiet and had a coffeemaker, microwave and small refrigerator, sink and fireplace with duraflame log. The bathroom was huge and updated with beautiful stained windows.

The rest of the facility included a small PX, gas station, weight room, cafeteria/bar, game room, starbucks coffee, and playgrounds for children and adults. Hiking trails were abundant and nearby. It's about a 1/2 mile from the Visitors Center and entrance to the park.

If you're active or retired DoD, this is a perfect place to stay while you visit the park. It is very reasonably priced, in the park, well maintained and quiet. If you are looking for a 5 star accommodations, this isn't it, but if you are looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay for your days in the park, this is it! There is alot to see in the park, it'll take more than one day- and staying here makes things so much easier than having to travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a beautiful location this lodging facility is located. The rooms were clean, neat, spacious, and comfortable. Located within the Hawai'i Valcanoes National Park, there is an abundance of hiking trails in order to view the Kilauea Caldera Valcanoes and only one mile down from Jaggar Museum which over looks the active lava flowing portion of the Valcanoe.

This place also has a nice cafe, PX, exercise room. Tennis court, and, more than liking a lot of other amenities that I didn't get a chance to see.

A great value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location just minutes drive from the volcano observation area. Perfect for visiting the glowing volcano at night. Weather cloudy and chilly, spots of rain very commonplace up here. Cottages are a bit tatty and there seem to be a lot of locals using the facilities, not convinced that they were all serving or ex military or DoD employees...... Basic and functional, this place does what it says on the tin. To be honest if you have a car and hit the park early you can easily see everything in a day and don't really need to stay over unless you want to visit the volcano at night. Be advised you can't hike across the main crater anymore and the Crater Rim road is mostly closed due to the volcanic gas coming from the volcano. In a nutshell the KMC accommodation is okay, the mess hall is worth giving a miss and the bar was full of locals. If you don't expect too much you'll not be disappointed, good for a large group. Probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our large family group (14 people) made the trek over from Kona for a weekend at Volcano National Park. We'd reserved a 6-bedroom house that had plenty of room for all of us, including a huge kitchen where we could all sit down for meals! I think KMC is a great choice for families - kids who are tired of the various hiking and volcano viewing activities have plenty to keep them busy on the KMC property - a playground, rec/games room, bowling alley, tennis, bike rentals, and lots of well-manicured lawns to careen around on. The cottages aren't fancy but have a very appealing old-style vibe; think of it more like camping than staying at a resort or a hotel - but super-deluxe camping! We took a tour of many of the cottages, which are gradually being renovated to include better kitchens, jetted tubs, and lots of slate tiles. Loved all the stained glass and lava rock construction. The proximity to all the park sites is great, and the camp is very quiet at night, making for a sweet sleep.

It's definitely a bit different - and if you have a military connection and plan to explore the volcano for a couple of days with kids, I think you'll find this a great option. I'd plan to bring food to prepare in the cottage kitchen, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea Volcano Military Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.