We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcanoes National Park - Hawaii-Forest & Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea

Kilauea
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/helicopter tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Active volcano built on the southeastern slope of Mauna Loa features a caldera approximately 4 by 3.2 kilometers wide and walls from zero to 120 meters high.
San Diego, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Volcanoes National Park - Hawaii-Forest & Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

On July 20, 2013, we went on a tour by Hawaii Forest & Trail with Mike as the guide. Mike was a very informative tour guide and we learned lots about the history/culture of the Big Island. The lunch and picnic dinner were great and included in the cost of the tour. We also had 8 other tourists in the comfortable van that made for great conversation and company. I'd highly advise booking a tour with this group. We're looking forward to our next visit and will definitely book a tour with Hawaii Forest & Trail. Thanks Mike!
Janice -San Diego

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    85
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A view to the center of the earth - how do you rate that!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went on a foggy day, but it was still impressive. Do not leave before dark! That is the best part! The glow from the hole in the center is amazing. Just awe inspiring.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Volcano Military Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just got back from my last visit, May 2013. Very impressed with the updated facilities and the over all up keep of the Camp. Once you check in, everything is there, cafe, movie and general store. Very HELPFUL and FRIENDLY people. A lot of newer buildings added since last visit. Well worth the trip and stay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Kracking Kilauea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well worth the trip just to see this national park and all it has to offer. Lava fields, glowing volcanic vents, steam vents, volcanic craters, recent lava, Roads end. Wonderful

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Kilauea is awesome! Visit the information center, they have a lot of interesting facts about the volcano. Information about viewing and recent activity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.