We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilauea

Kilauea
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Type: Volcanos, National Parks
Activities: Group tours/helicopter tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Active volcano built on the southeastern slope of Mauna Loa features a caldera approximately 4 by 3.2 kilometers wide and walls from zero to 120 meters high.
Dadeville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On our cruise to Hawaii, we booked this tour Mauna Loa, the world’s largest volcano, and Kilauea, the world’s most active volcano with Roberts Hawaii Tour Company. Fantastic people to work with. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Hawaii contact this company for a terrific tour of the islands. The rate per tour was half of what the ships cost and well worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    76
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Black Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So on the way back from Volcanos National Park, the bus driver took us to see where the volcano was still building a beach, but it was a black beach. In those days, you could still see a small collection of buildings that had once been a beachside attraction, but had been completely abandoned, because it was no longer on the beach. Then we walked down to the water. The Hawaiians were trying to renew the land by planting coconuts in the black rocks that were now the beach. This really gave you an idea of what power the volcanoes have.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“ride the rim of hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

cool, once in life experience.visitor center and jaggar museum has history of volcano and parts,including walking thru lava tubes and fantastic views of active volcano. fantastic photo shots.you can see the venting plumes. part of national park system. good parking,easy handicap access. bathrooms available. great experience for kids of all ages. great bonding experience. beauty of nature all around. rangers available for questions and direction.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“My husband got the best photo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

That he has ever taken there. Now granted the volcano and the weather can be rather finicky. Be prepared for anything. My husband went on Saturday evening to try to take glow photos, but with the cloud cover and all the tour busses, it just wasn't happening. So he went in the park very early the next morning and got some great shots. We consider this a must stop when we are here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Lava Field Hike”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

An update from previous advisor explaining the medical conditions experienced on this hike and further recommendations for the hike.

We (a group of 6) from Indianapolis, Indiana hiked the Hawaii Big Island Kilauea National Park Lava Field staying adjacent to the Pacific Ocean to see the lava flow into the ocean 7 miles one way - a total of 14 miles roundtrip (a total of 10.5 hours) through old lava fields which were very rugged and uneven and really dangerous.

We met with a park ranger at the Kilauea Military Camp (KMC) Welcome Center prior to the hike and he did not inform us of the risks we would be encountering and did not inform us how we should have been prepared.

We thought the hike would be through a created trail with markers at each mile.

We were totally unprepared because of the lack of knowledge of what we were to encounter. We only had one bar on our cell phones and we were the only group hiking the lava fields.

If someone would have been severely injured there was no way of contacting emergency officials for extraction to a hospital.

Once we arrived at the area of the lava fields where the lava was flowing into the ocean a member of our group was experiencing a number of medical conditions such as dehydration, anxiety (from walking through an area where sulfur gas was leaking heavy and by mistake actually walking over an area where red lava was flowing beneath us – we could feel the extreme heat on our shoes), diabetes attack (from lack of sugar and anxiety), and severe blisters on the bottom of the feet.

If you decide to hike the lava fields of the Hawaii Big Island National Park, make sure you carry a sufficient amount of water, food, first aid kit, charged cell phones, good hiking boots with rugged soles, walk as fast as the slowest person of your group and stay as a group. Anyone with a medical condition should not attempt to hike the lava fields to see the lava flow into the ocean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilauea also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kilauea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilauea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.