We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano and Tastes of Hawai'i, incl Volcanic Garden Arts gallery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Hawaii National Park, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Volcanos
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Volcano and Tastes of Hawai'i, incl Volcanic Garden Arts gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked this shore excursion from the Pride of America. A small group tour, our group consisting of 11 people. Nohay was our driver and guide and she never stopped talking from start to finish. That is not a criticism; Nohay was full of interesting information and history. Her love of her island (Hawai'i or The Big Island) was obvious.

Our first stop was at a local family coffee plantation where we were given a talk as to their process and a tasting of their coffee. You also have the opportunity to purchase coffee and other items. From there we drove on to the Volcanic National Park to view the Jagger museum and the park's many wonders, including a walk through a lava tube. Unfortunately, the lava tube is not accessible to those in a wheelchair or to those who would have trouble with uneven terrain. N.B. we did not see any lava flowing on this tour.

After visiting the park we drove on to Volcano Garden Arts where we enjoyed a glass of wine and a browse through a most interesting craft gallery and garden, Ira Ono being the most gracious host. This was followed by lunch of potato salad and wraps in the gallery's garden, lunch being supplied by Nohay. After lunch and a few interesting purchases from the gallery we drove on to Big Island Candies who make and sell the most scrumptious chocolates.

The tour took the good part of a day and was enjoyable, but I was disappointed that we did not see more of the actual lava fields - but that is another tour. Maybe next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    281
    43
    13
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wow - eco tourism at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What an amazing place; you see the start of the world here! For $10 you are given a week long pass for the park. You can walk through lava tubes, hike around a giant creator, see the Jagger Museum and take a breath-taking 20 miles drive down to the coast. Simply one of the best experiences I can think of!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip to the big island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is worth a special trip. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is a treat to any person who wants an understanding of how the 50th state was formed.
We came looking forward to seeing the crater and doing a few hikes.
We had a great time. Plan more time than you originally think to enjoy all that this park has to offer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“No Flowing Lava but Lots to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We did this trip by excursion so I don't know about the entry fee. We visited Halema'uma'u Crater overlook, the Jagger Museum, walked through a lava tube and saw a number of steam vents. It was a nice, sunny day which made the trip perfect. It would not be enjoyable on a rainy day. Due to the volcanoes, the air quality is not always good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great but much of the park was closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The park was very informative but, due to the flows and the air quality, much of the park was closed during our visit. Be aware, if you try to go down to the road that was covered by lava flow, you cannot drive to it from inside the park. You have to walk about a half a mile past where the road is closed.

You can go to the other side of the lava flow (outside the park) to see the flow at night. The area is all private property and there is a road closed sign, but it is open for viewing. Apparently, the state has not taken down the no entry signs. We were informed by locals that the sign was incorrect and that you could drive down the one lane road over the lava to get to a parking area about a mile in. From there you can see the flows at night in the distance. Just bring a flashlight because there is a short walk. There are locals available from 3 - 9 each day to assist you with questions or talk about the lava flows. There are numerous houses here that are living 'off the grid' due to no services (power / water) and the locals seemed very nice about all the visitors, just dont block the road or their driveways and stay on the main road. Although its all black lava rock, under that rock is private property, so respect their property rights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Volcanoes National Park also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.