We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, Fantastic Bikes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Bike Company

Haleakala Bike Company
810 Haiku Road, Suite 120, Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96708
1-888-922-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike down Haleakala, Maui's largest Volcano. Enjoy a tour of Haleakala National Park and a trip up to the summit at 10,000feet above sea level. Admire views of the Crater, and bicoastal views of Maui. Experience a 27 mile bike ride downhill at your own pace. No guided convoy to rush you down, no big group to hold you back. You are free to come down at your own comfortable rate.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, Fantastic Bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had been to the summit of Haleakala previously, so didn't feel the need to visit the crater or the summit again this trip, but did want to bike down. Haleakala Bike Company offers an Express Ride, which takes you up a bit past the 6,500 level and drops you off for your opportunity to bike at your own pace back down the hill to Ha'iku.

Kimo gave us great tips and background on our drive up, with careful instructions of how to find out way back, places we might want to stop to investigate, contact information for if we had any questions or problems on our way down. He dropped us off with a map and a smile.

We were outfitted with great, state of the art bikes, with disk brakes which worked quietly and effectively. Before we left the shop, they provided us with rain gear, jacket, pants and gloves, as well as a daypack, all included in the price. They easily could nickle and dime their clients by adding these on as extra charges, but they don't.

The ride and the views down are spectacular. We especially appreciated being able to go at our own pace, stopping for pictures as we wanted, taking side trips to the lavender farm and the town of Makawao. We passed and were passed by others on group tours, which did not enjoy our same flexibility.

We highly recommend Haleakala Bike Company. They were professional, had great equipment, and seemed to genuinely enjoy working with their customers.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    125
    46
    28
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will do it again! For sure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We went April 24. Tour was wicked! Guide was funny and informative. Keomo kept the crew interacting. Learned some stuff about Maui and had a few laughs. A little colder at the top. Great food at the Lavender farm on the way down. Taro burger was deadly! Rained when we got to the bottom of the hill but it was refreshing! We paid 90 per person. Will definitely do it again next time we are in Maui. Awesome sights and great pics. Ask Keomo for the walking on clouds pic.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A super experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of this bus excursion and the independence of travelling down the road into town on our own. Pleasant office staff, informative and fun tour guiding from Kimu and good equipment with the rain jacket, pants, helmet, pack and bike. Would do it again tomorrow!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful time with the exception of the 1 am get up for the 3am meet up. The company was great and lively. We had Cory with the backup of Kimo and Fred. All great guys and they knew their stuff.
We had such a good time in Maui that when we got home to pa we booked another flight back to Maui in January. This independent bike ride will be in the agenda again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had so much fun on this trip.
It did suck to get up at 1:45am, but it was all up hill from there ( literally hahaha).

So we got on the bus and were greeted by our lively driver, who was hilarious. Plenty of corny jokes and humor, which was great for zero dark thirty, or whatever unGodly time it was in the morning. The driver made it so easy to NOT GET LOST, he pointed out many many road signs and clues to help get back to the shop safely and in a reasonable time.. They even gave us a map (which had two types of directions to -again- ensure we did not get lost).

Once at the top of the crater, where it was a blamy 30 degrees. The guide was more than happy to take picutres and provide anecdotal stories about the area.
After sunrise we headed to another spot and got more great pictures.
Finally it was time to ride bikes. I will admit I was totally nervous about riding in the road but those monster helments were pretty reassuring once you get going. And the rain gear. I contemplated not wearing it, because it was pretty ugly, but so glad I did. Not only did it keep the wind from chilling my bones, it also kept me dry, because suprise it started to rain on the way down.. Which actually made the trip, in my opinion more fun.. The bikes were sturdy, some of the roads were worn, but I never felt unsafe.

These guys were great and I'd gladly do business with them again! We had a blast.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Bike Company also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Bike Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Bike Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.