We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience you will remember forever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Bike Company

Haleakala Bike Company
810 Haiku Road, Suite 120, Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96708
1-888-922-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike down Haleakala, Maui's largest Volcano. Enjoy a tour of Haleakala National Park and a trip up to the summit at 10,000feet above sea level. Admire views of the Crater, and bicoastal views of Maui. Experience a 27 mile bike ride downhill at your own pace. No guided convoy to rush you down, no big group to hold you back. You are free to come down at your own comfortable rate.
Rosemead, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An experience you will remember forever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I found this place based on a friend's recommendation. Woke up at 1:30am so that I could get to the office by 2:30 in the morning. But it was perfect because we were able to get a prime location for capturing the sunrise at the peak of Haleakala.

Haleakala means "House of the Sun". The peak is the highest point in Maui. It rests at 10,000 feet and, at the peak, you sit right above the clouds. Sunrise here is a must-see event in Maui and it was probably one of my best memories of my trip. You come in seeing a sky full of stars. As the orange tint gradually rises above the clouds, the stars slowly fade. Then you get the sharp glimmer of the sun. When the sun appears, it's undoubtedly a Hakuna Matata moment, but it's only the beginning of the experience.

Taking the 26 mile downhill ride was also really fun. It forces you to really take in the beautiful environment and fresh air.

Reasons to choose this company:

You can trek down this mountain at your own pace. You could stop at Kula Lodge for mac nut pancakes and you could stop by the Komoda bakery for guava malasadas.
The guides are friendly and they have good insight.
The mountain bikes were new. They have nice disk braking systems and were a comfortable ride.

Factors to consider in choosing a different company or bus tour:

Choose a different company if you need a guided tour.
Choose a different company if you don't have a good navigation sense and you will be riding alone.
Choose a different company if you don't think you could safely ride a bike 26 miles downhill. Note that you are on roads and you will be sharing the road with traffic. I didn't see a lot of cars, but it is still a consideration if you have small kids or if you have a significant other that isn't comfortable with riding.

Things to be aware of:

There are 6 different climate zones between the peak of the volcano and the final destination at ground level. It will go from 20-40F at the peak to as high as 90F at sea level. Know the weather. Bring a backpack, sunglasses, and wear layers. They can provide you with a backpack and light rain jacket if you need it. But if you're sensitive to cold, then you will need to plan accordingly.

Also...on the bus ride up....pay attention to the driver. He gives you turn by turn directions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    125
    46
    28
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark,Delaware
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good Alternative to a Commercial Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Haleakala Bike Co. provided everything we needed to bike down Haleakala on our own without going on an organized tour. The bikes, bike rack, helmets, hats, gloves, backpacks, maps, all for a very affordable price that included rental return by the end of the following day. Very cheap compared to the tours that were offered. Plus we got to start at the top as compared to the tour companies that have to start at 6500 feet.

The down side of this deal for us was a bit of inaccurate information pertaining to the mountain bike ride down the spine of Haleakala, which we did. Their exact words were "A nine year old girl did it, yeah she fell a couple times but she did fine. Families do this ride no problem. This is not too technical of a ride."

Problem with this info was that it was more technical than they let on and my sister who was more of a beginner did not fair well. In fact it took us over 4 hours to get through what was supposed to be a 1 1/2 to 2 hour ride. Forcing us to return the bikes the following day which we did not want to do as we were staying 2 hours away.

The single track part of the ride is quite technical and good if you have experience with roots, rocks and mud. If your a beginner, you'd be better off on the road. Even the 4 wheel drive road was a lot of deep gravel which required a bit more skill than a beginner would possess.

Would have given them a 5 if their information was more accurate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun way to see up country Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff at Haleakala Bike Company was great! Booked online and then had to change my trip, called them and it was no problem to make the switch. When we arrived in Maui they called to discuss our options about our trip since the park was closed due to the government shut down. They were super nice and accommodating. We opted for the Express tour which ended up still being a blast, particularly because our guide, Kimo, was awesome. He made the ride up the mountain a blast with his hilarious stories and island history. Ride down was easy and seemed very safe. We stopped at a fruit stand that had awesome and unique fruit selection. Stopping in Makawao was great. We shopped around and had lunch at Polli's (though the General Store looked great too and I have heard their lunches are really tasty). Make sure to grab some donuts on a stick at the bakery. Ride took about four hours from leaving the shop to returning.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid Mountain Bike Rentals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rented two hardtails and a full suspension for a ride down the Haleakala Skyline trail. Reservations were quick and easy over the phone a couple days before. The bikes were in great condition, well maintained and came with all the essentials. Price was fair. Accurate maps and route tips were provided and they even helped install the bike rack on the car before we left. Definitely would recommend these guys if you are looking to rent bikes and do your own thing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“1 or 2 bad apples & just a little extra effort...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We rode on the morning of 9/17. We missed a sunrise, got a big fog bank, and barely could see the Park Ranger building on top, but HBC cannot be blamed for that. It would be nice if HBC could offer another opportunity to view the sunrise IF they had open seats on subsequent days or even offer a seat up on a "later in the day" bus trip up to at least get a view of the crater, as we really got nothing but an expensive, rural downhill bike ride with breathtaking vistas. But this part was really fun and exciting. I understand they want to try and sell those seats until the last minute, but it would come across as a gracious gesture to your customers. I really don't think many people would you take up on the offer anyway.

We were part of a group where half of us rode the bikes down and the others came down on the bus. We were told to be sure and arrive by 10:30. My wife and I were the last of the bike riders down arriving at 10:15 as we were held up having breakfast at the restaurant half way down (as encouraged by HBC). Immediately we were hurried onto the bus for the trip back to our hotel in Lahaina. We were trying to pick up a T-shirt in the shop and my wife wanted to at least go to the bathroom and change shirts since we had rode through some rain and were a little sweaty, too. So we grabbed the 1st shirt that seemed to fit and jumped onto the bus, hot, sweaty and a little nasty. We had fun riding the bikes down and otherwise had a good time, but the service/hospitality in last 5 minutes of the trip ruined it for us.

I appreciate that the bus riders had been waiting a while since they were not able to shop in Paia as promised. Apparently they had arrived before the shops had opened and were soon brought back to the shop to wait for the bikers and were anxious to move on. But, frankly that was not our problem. My wife really prefers to "shop" for our T-shirts and not just settle for the first one she picks up. This really left a bad taste in our mouth, especially knowing "Hawaii time" is a little more relaxed and not so rushed.

Somewhat disappointing service on the back end of the trip kills all the good will the other employees had gained on the other parts.

The bikes were in really good shape and the the rain gear is fine, though it becomes very hot as you ride into the warmer, more humid temps back near the bottom. No mirrors on the bikes so you become concerned about cars creeping up on you, but not a show stopper.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Bike Company also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Bike Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Bike Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.