We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rewarded with a 400 ft waterfall after a beautiful hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipiwai Trail

Pipiwai Trail
Mile Marker 41 Hana Hwy, Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96713
808 572 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$111*
and up
Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour
Type: Equestrian Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic hiking and horseback riding trail that features major waterfalls, beautiful pools and an eerie bamboo forest.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Rewarded with a 400 ft waterfall after a beautiful hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We did the Road to Hana and saw all the waterfalls along the way, but none compared to the amazing waterfall at the end of this hike. It was a wonderful experience to walk through the bamboo forest.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    48
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hike was great-not too long. About 1 miles each way, it took us just under an hour each way. I hike with my husband and 75 year old father. There is some steep and uneven terrain and at the end, you must cross a stream with rocks in it but well worth the effort. Wear a Teva type hiking sandal with a closed toe. The bamboo forest is just amazing and so beautiful and it is darker and cooler there. The waterfall at the end is the largest I have ever seen! Just so amazing and beautiful. It is a drive to get there so it is best to get an early start, the trail starts beyond Hana. There is $10 admission fee to the Mt Haleakala state park but it is good for 3 days.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of the falls - but it will wear you out getting to it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Waimoku Falls

Pipiwai Trail to the Waimoku Falls

3.7 miles roundtrip

800 foot elevation change each way

184 foot waterfall at Makahiku

Winding through bamboo and guava forests until you reach the base of the 400 foot Waimoku Falls

It will take the average person over 1 and 1/2 hours to hike to the falls.

And it is not for the hiking challenged and here is why

-You will not only be hiking up some steps

-Some rock steps

-Over two creeks with slippery rocks

-Very uneven terrain which can and will be wet

-Go over a few bridges which are completely safe

I had a slight sprained ankle during my journey and I still made the trip

The beauty of the falls is something heaven like and I promise your hike will be worth it when you reach the falls. Take time to take pictures and just view this amazing falls. There is only two ways to visit these falls - take the hike or view it by helicopter. Your choice.

The falls is about 10 miles past the town of Hana. And of course this means about 30+ minutes with the very narrow roads and bridges.

May I suggest purchasing Road to Hana audio CD which will give you a guided tour of all the important stops.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A tiny bit spoiled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This review is for my fellow Oregonians and I run the risk of sounding a bit spoiled, but here is my take on this attraction:

The road that leads you here is a very long and winding one. By the time you reach this destination, assuming you left west Maui at around 7am, it will be around 3pm. By now, you should have stopped at black sand beach, red sand beach, and a few times off the Hana highway. You're tired and you still want to enjoy the seven sacred pools at 'Ohe'o gulch. If this is you and you're with children and you're an Oregonian and you've been on hikes all around the Columbia River Gorge...just take the extremely short hike to the pools and enjoy them for the rest of the evening until you decide to head back home.

The hike in itself is not difficult, not one bit. However, it is time consuming. Approximately 5 miles round trip. All to reach a waterfall that is seems an awful lot like all those you've seen before on your Oregon adventures. Unless you are dying for waterfalls, go. If not, enjoy the last portion of your trip down at the pools with no rush. The road back is a long one since your rental company won't let you take it around the park back to south Maui.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed near Hana and set out for this hike fairly early to beat the crowds. We ran across a few people but for the most part were alone on most of the trail. Definitely recommend good walking shoes as the trail is not even and smooth. You may have to cross a stream or two. Bamboo forest is cool. Be sure to look up thru bamboo, it's pretty. Most of the waterfalls along here were a trickle, but the big falls at the end makes the hike worth it. It's about 4 miles round trip. Bring water and camera and maybe a snack or lunch. Swimming area was small but no problem getting under the falls. Could not find the diversions mentioned in guidebook.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipiwai Trail also viewed

 

Been to Pipiwai Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipiwai Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.