We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waimoku Falls Trail; Unforgettable Hike in Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipiwai Trail

Pipiwai Trail
Mile Marker 41 Hana Hwy, Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96713
808 572 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$111*
and up
Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour
Type: Equestrian Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic hiking and horseback riding trail that features major waterfalls, beautiful pools and an eerie bamboo forest.
El Centro, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waimoku Falls Trail; Unforgettable Hike in Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We took our family of 5 and had a great time. The trail is a little over 2 miles each way. The walk is not flat, parts of it are at an incline. The steepest is in the first part. We saw people of all ages making it all the way to the falls. If you go, wear comfortable shoes and be prepared it's somewhat uneven. I wore water socks and that worked fine for me; they're light and are fine walking thru mud and water. Restrooms are in parking lot only. It was encouraging to see grandparents, young and small children taking the walk. The waterfalls at the end, wow what a sight to see. Very much worth the walk. Be patient with yourself and your group. You'll get there, the journey and the destination are absolutely beautiful and well worth it. I carried my 8 year old daughter on my back part of the way. It was worth it. We found the walk back easier and faster. The only fee is for parking; $10.00, this gives you access to bathrooms and parking space.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    48
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hike the 2 miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hike up to the waterfall can be a little long, but is worth at the end with a beautiful view of the waterfall! DO NOT WEAR FLIP FLOPS!! Wear sneakers as it can get muddy and can get a little slippery. Also, if you aren't a fan of getting wet, bring a hiking bag to put towels or a rain coat in because it will rain on and off.

The bamboo forest is something that you will NEVER see again and that alone is worth the hike. It will seem like you are hiking FOREVER, but keep going because you will feel a sense of accomplishment once you get to the end! Don't chicken out on this. Just come prepared with water, sneakers, and rain gear (if you don't like to get wet.) Besides, the trails are so well marked and you can't get lost at all!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular water falls - what a payoff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Waimoku Falls trail is accessed from the Kipahulu Visitor Center of Haleakala National Park. If you visited the crater area of the park, save your receipt as it is good for 3-days and will get you into this area.
The trail is well maintained with steps and boardwalks through the worst of the muddy areas. The hike up to the falls could be somewhat strenuous if you are a couch potato - you are hiking up a valley, through muddy areas and crossing a couple of small streams. That said, it was the most beautiful hike I've ever been on. Along the way you'll see waterfalls, a great old banyon tree, and a thick, lush bamboo forest. The 400' Waimoku Falls at the end of the trail is spectacular!
You want to get to the trailhead early - we made the hike in the late afternoon. The good thing about that was we were one of the last groups to head up the trail and had the falls all to ourselves. That being said, it would be a scary hike down in the dark with no flashlight and I would not recommend that you push the start of your hike too late.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We took our four very small children so were only able to go up the first 1/2 miles to the first large waterfall. This hike is stunning and I wish we could have done the full 4 miles (2 up and 2 back). Moderate hike. A bit muddy. Probably would take 3-4 hours to do the full hike. Definitely worth it since you made it all the way to Hana!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waimoku Falls walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went after a rain and it was very muddy and slippery. Be careful and wear shoes with tread. There were areas that got very close to the cliff so watch out. There was no access to falls, so that part was a bummer. There were a lot of different plants and trees to see and a fun hike for us and the kids.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipiwai Trail also viewed

 

Been to Pipiwai Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipiwai Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.