We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do for Maui visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Haleakala Crater like an insider
Special Offer
$97*
and up
Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Mountain biking, Biking, Group tours/day tour, Hiking, Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A must do for Maui visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This review is for the sunrise at the Haleakala Crater. It's truly a magnificent experience. We were fortunate that it was cloudy that day and the sunrise above the clouds made for a remarkable picture.

Tips:
1) If you're doing the sunrise dress in full blown winter wear. I'm not talking about a jacket. I'm talking about multiple layers with a winter coat and globes, scarf, winter cap. It is FREEZING there at 5am.
2) Get there early as parking is very limited. We got there at 5:30 for a 6:43 sunrise.
3) Keep your park entrance receipt. If you're doing the Pipiwei Trail on the road to Hana, you won't have to pay another park entrance fee (as long as the two are within 3 days of each other).
4) Read #1 again :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    456
    74
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
“View from the top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Haleakala Crater is about 9,000 feet above sea level. It offers breathtaking views of martian-esque landscape, green hills, and cloud tops. Here are a few helpful hints...

1. The crater is in the Haleakala National Park. There is an admission fee to enter the park. The crater is about 30 minutes of hairpin turns up from the park entrance.
2. Rent a car or go with a bike tour company and ride down on a bike. The road is so windy that a bus trip might make you nauseous, or it might leave you with too much/too little time at the top.
3. The summit can be quite cool. Bring a light jacket, or check the forecast. While it does not happen often, I was there two days after a snowfall.
4. There are no real food options at the summit other than a snack machine. Pack snacks or lunch if you plan to spend much time at the top.
5. There are tours and other guided trips that go up at sunrise. If you like the early, early morning, I can't think of a more beautiful spot to see a sunrise.
6. Allow at least 3-4 hours to complete the drive up and back down with a stop at the top. If you plan to do additional exploring at the park, allow yourself most of or a full day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved our day trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Headed up by 10:30 and enjoyed all the changes in landscape along with the altitude changes. Driving above the clouds was surreal. We were warm enough in shorts and sweatshirts in the afternoon. I have gone to the summit at sunrise years ago and enjoyed this so much more. Spectacular views into the crater. Definitely worthwhile as a day trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We finally made it- and I CHERISH the memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our third trip to Maui and our 1st sunrise at Haleakala- admittedly, there was some hesitation and second thoughts about going when the alarm went off. We went day 2 of our trip and drove from Westin, Kaanapali Beach at about 4am. It WAS worth the effort- and the sunrise was spectacular.

When they say it's cold- they are not kidding- it was a biting cold, even with a coat, gloves, scarf, jeans, sneakers and a small travel blanket and I still went back to the car a few times to warm up. There is a decent restroom and a small park service store but limited shelter from the wind on the mountain.

I will always cherish the memories of the drive that morning and the sunrise, the early hour made for a funny, silly, kind of adventure, that will not soon be forgotten. There is even a silly song that we created in the car that morning- that I could sing for you... lol! Super fun..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all, rent a car and visit this wonderful park. The tour buses only stay for about 40 minutes total. 36 miles of winding road but well paved. Watch for cyclists. View from top is magnificent. Keep in mind you are at 10,000 ft so air is thinner. Once on top there are only a few steps. Check weather before going. We went around 10 am and we're not disappointed. Truly a marvellous park. Please obey the rules about food and staying on trails. Don't feed birds as this is not good for them. Hope you enjoy the park as much as we did.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.