We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$97*
and up
Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking, Group tours/day tour, Mountain biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We left our hotel in Kihei around 2:30 am to drive up. We got there plenty early enough, so we took a nap in the car before heading up to the lookout point. We both brought warm clothing (heavy winter coats, long pants, gloved, etc. and we were still freezing. I definitely suggest taking a spare blanket from the hotel. I can't even put into words how magnificent this experience was - our pictures don't even do it justice. Definitely a must-do!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,377
    505
    76
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stayton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to Maui several times and finally this time got to go see the sunrise. Very worth it and would even do it again. Be sure to take some Draminine if you tend to get car sick as the road is very windy ... and do not forget to dress for winter, it was 54 degrees on the day I went and luckily my brother ( who lives on Maui) brought me and my friends sweatshirts, gloves and hats. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You don't have to go for sunrise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We began our drive to the top late morning. We stopped for lunch on the way up. A fantastic view and, as with other spots on Maui, something you can't see very many other places. Well worth the drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked the 'Haleakala Crater Tour' through Roberts Hawaii Shore Excursions whom we have been with several times before and enjoyed them all. Much cheaper but virtually identical to the cruise line's excursions and far less people in smaller buses, therefore more personalised tours. My husband and I loved this morning trip, taking us up to the top of the crater where we had breathtaking views looking down above the clouds over the snow capped mountains spread out below. The air was very thin, strange experience finding oneself out of breath up there. It was a clear day but cold and windy so definite need to take warm clothing. Highly recommend taking this tour, you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magic! Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We got up before the crack of dawn and the kids thought we were crazy but we all loved our experience and would do it again. I don't know how cold it was but coming from Canada we know what cold feels like and that was COLD! So bring a good coat, some blankets, hats if you have them and wear socks! Some people were in board shorts and flip flops...!!! It's very windy as well but soooo beautiful. Even if we had a ring of clouds up there, when the sun showed up everyone was ooohing and ahhhing, it is magnificient. After, the sun has risen you can explore the park and learn some more about the whole place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.