We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go...in the morning or evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Haleakala Crater like an insider
Special Offer
$97*
and up
Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Biking, Group tours/day tour, Mountain biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go...in the morning or evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Do yourself a favor and don't try to go here during midday...you're just going to see a lot of clouds until you reach about 9700' (near the top). I have heard that sunrise and sunset are the best times to go, and we regret not going then. Also, watch out for the insane amount of cyclists on their way down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,209
    468
    75
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Still a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I spent time at Haleakala years ago and is still magical area. Extraordinary views. It will take forty five minutes to an hour plus to get to the summit from the low lands depending on the weather so plan accordingly. Highly Recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should have checked the weather”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I assumed we would be above the cloud line, but I was wrong. The drive was difficult due to poor visibility - about 30 feet in rain and dense fog. It was also unnerving to see people on bike tours riding down the mountain in wet conditions, poor visibility, and limited experience (kids, moms, dads). We couldn't even see the visitors center from the parking lot. The top of the mountain was very cold and rainy too.

Advice for others - call ahead to check the weather for the drive up and at the top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunrise is unreal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Early in morning to get there but it's worth it...Just unreal view. Can't wait to make it back one day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I know that it is hard to get up early in the morning when you are on vacation but this is well worth the effort. Be sure and dress warm as it is freezing cold at the top if the wind is blowing (which it always is). Seeing the sun come up over the cloud blanket it breath taking. You need to get there at least 30 minutes before sunrise to get a good vantage point and a parking spot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.