We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Volcanos, Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Mountains, Biking Trails
Activities: Biking, Group tours/day tour, Mountain biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This experience was breathtaking, exhilarating and fulfilling.
We had to wake up at 1:45 am so we could meet the tour bus at 2:20 am, but I am not complaining. This was a once in a lifetime experience for me. We had a rental car but decided to avoid the stress of driving ourselves. We lucked out and had a great group of people on our tour. Our tour guide and driver, Wayne, was a wealth of knowledge. Before sunrise, we were served coffee and danishes and on the way back, a sit down breakfast alongside a golf course.
We booked our tour through our hotel.
Over 10k feet later, we were blown away and in awe of the beauty that surrounded us. We had clear skies that morning with an unobstructed view of the sunrise. You do have to dress warm and wear comfortable walking shoes.
This is a "must do" for any first time Maui visitor. I would pick this over the much hyped "Road to Hana".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    286
    50
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sliding Sands Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I get a chuckle at everyone who goes to the peak just for sunrise..then runs to their car and can't wait to get outta there...haha. We opted to get a good nights rest and get to the park around noon when it was 'warmer' :) like 57 degrees. We were prepared with layers of clothing, lots of water and my wife with her hiking poles. It was really, really windy and cold at the top..haha. Gotta love freezing when you know it's 86 at the beach below.

We decided to hike down the Sliding Sands Trail to the bottom of the crater and back. An approx 8 mile round trip and 2,500 ft elevation change...all on the way back. What awesome views!!! As we descended we went through a layer of clouds to a sun splashed landscape like no other (well maybe the moon). The wind died down, the sun came out and it progressively got warmer. We went from hoodie, to sweat shirt, to tee shirt as we descended. Kind of chuckled at some of the other hikers who were dressed for constant artic conditions.

The trip down took about two hours with frequent picture taking and pee stops :) As we descended we could see the guided horse trip at the bottom. We passed them as they headed up. This would be a much better trip for the less athletic! We stopped for lunch at the intersection of an adjacent trail at the hitching post and peeing tree (as it is referred to locally..haha). We had lunch and then commenced our return all up-hill hike.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND this for those of you (which is probably MOST of you).This is not an easy climb, you will need gobs of water and you better be in great shape. Otherwise..... WE LOVED IT!!!! We passed some others who were NOT prepared and they looked bad. Gosh there are soooo many stupid people out there! It took us about 2-1/2 hours to hije back. Total hike of 5-1/2 hours

However, for us. It was an incredible day, workout, time together in quiet solitude with one of the most beautiful landscapes imaginable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunrise at Haleakala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is so worth taking the time to see! FYI...it is SO COLD! the top of the volcano is ten thousand feet high and you lose 3 degrees for every thousand feet, so...at about 4am that means its gonna be around 35-45 degrees with a very strong wind! If you go without a guide, go very early and bring several wind proof layers and gloves! I SERIOUSLY RECOMMEND GOING WITH A GUIDED TOURING COMPANY...we did the one that you bike down the volcano after the sunrise and that was a lot of fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not an early person...see the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is truly an awe inspiring place. But not being an early riser we chose to go zip line in the up country, then travel up the slopes to the crater. It takes about 45 minutes to go up, and the views are great, you will go through the clouds / fog on the way up. Then you will be ABOVE the clouds We walked around some looking at the big island in the distance, and the "moonscape" in the crater and watched the sun slowly sink ino the clouds .... Very Beautiful ! Remember to take a jacket, it does get chilly at 10,000 feet : )

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Finally got to the top of Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Maui and we never got to see the Haleakala Crater because of cloud cover. One morning I looked up at the crater from our condo and the cloud was broken around Haleakala. I told my wife we are going up to see the crater - now.
It was so worth the trip. It gives people a chance to see the spectacular creation of nature and provides another view of the diverse landscape of this small island paradise.
We did not get to see the sunrise so the next time up the crater it will be to experience the Haleakala Sunrise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haleakala Crater to your Saves list