We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing at any time of the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Volcanos, Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Mountains, Biking Trails
Activities: Biking, Group tours/day tour, Mountain biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing at any time of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't be too concerned about visiting for either sunrise or sunset, though I am sure that would be spectacular. We drove up in the middle of the day, traffic was fine and it is important not to be rushed. The view was spectacular and this is a must-do when visiting Maui. We stayed in Kihei and it took approx 1 hr 45 min to drive up, and a touch quicker on the way down, even taking into account getting stuck behind a few slower vehicles. Highly recommend purchasing the app GyPSy if you have either an iPad or iPhone, you don't need to have 3G or phone service once the app is down loaded as the app picks up your location via GPS and gives you directions as well as information on your drive, like having a tour guide in your own car and you can skip parts if you like.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    328
    54
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We made it up for sunrise and the sunrise was definitely very very nice. Most people leave within 5 minutes after the sunrise though. We stayed for about 45 min. to check out the crater and other views. There's really not a ton to see though.... I feel like you can't go to Hawaii and not experience a volcano..... but it's really not a particularly tourist friendly site. You wake up really really early and drive to the middle of nowhere and you have at most an hours worth of tourism. I think you should do it if you're in Maui but just temper your expectations better than I did.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Haleakala: The Crater that helps to define the House of the Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nothing ever prepares us for the experience and the grandeur of the first of the sun’s rays welcoming the new day in the Crater called Haleakala on Maui. A breath taking experience if you have not seen it before. Don’t forget to bring some warm clothing and a snack, since there are no food vendors in the park. Experienced hikers have many words of praise for taking one of the many hiking trails from the rim of the crater to lower levels.

If you are a hiker, be aware that conditions in the crater can change quickly as weather fronts can pass through rapidly. One moment it is brilliantly sunny, and very soon thereafter it can be chilly, foggy and rainy. Even if you are simply driving up the mountain by car on a hot summer day, bring a jacket and an umbrella. You will most likely need them.

The crater can be observed in any one of a variety of moods. Whatever the weather conditions may be, whether it is rain, fog, brilliant sunshine or whatever, the crater can and will reflect that mood. From lower levels on the island it is frequently a guessing game as to what the weather conditions will be like when you have taken the time to travel up the mountain by car. However, once above the cloud level all is revealed and you get to enjoy whatever mother nature has prepared for this day.

If you are of the bike rider persuasion, make arrangements to join the various tour groups dedicated to riding bikes down a substantial portion of the way down the mountain. They are at it every day and you’ll make arrangements for a given day rather easily on the internet. The cost is quite reasonable and the various stops for refreshment, camaraderie, and sustenance are great fun. Haleakala is a great place to be no matter which day you choose.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murnau, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“on top of the growing world :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

after a 2 hours drive we reached the top of the Haleakala crater, the weather condition was like normal, sun and approx. 52 F. The landscape is amazing, and the view to the most other Hawaiian islands is great. It is very useful to start early as the most of the days the clouds will be more and more during the day.
As it is very easy to reach the Haleakala with your car, it is one of the "must do" on Maui. If you like more nature, than continue the next day with the "road to Hana"

enjoy. . . . .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Above the Clouds....and not in a plane! Sunscreen, jackets and no extra exertion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I made this journey in June 2012 and it was indeed breathtaking! At approximately 10,000 feet in height, the view is astonishing..a mixture of billowing clouds below you and the feeling that you are on the moon, or on Mars as you drink in the view of the summit. Add to that the view of the Haleakala Observatories and you will really feel like you have entered the set of a sci-fi movie! We visited in the daytime, and luckily for us, it was a beautiful day, both above and below the clouds. Enjoy the ride up the volcano and drive at a sensibly slow pace, keeping an eye out for Hawaii's beloved national bird, the Nene, as they may be on the road. We found it interesting to watch the temperature drop as we ascended the volcano. The road is built in a zigzag fashion with an increase in elevation and hairpin turns. Keep in mind that you are travelling to a very high elevation, so be aware of symptoms of elevation sickness. While one generally does not wear a jacket in Hawaii, (at least we didn't), if you plan on visiting Haleakala, you will definitely need to bring one along, along with sensible footwear. Once there, remember to move at a relaxed pace, as, again, you are at a high altitude, and the air is thinner. Wear sunscreen. It would be wise to look at the Park website at http://www.nps.gov/hale/index.htm . As with everything on the Island Paradise known as Maui, enjoy and savor every moment!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.