We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI 96768
808-572-4400
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Volcanos, Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Mountains, Biking Trails
Activities: Biking, Group tours/day tour, Mountain biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did this as part of the Crater at Sunset Tour. You have to get up early to get to the top of the Volcano and see the sunset, but coming from the East Coast that was not a problem...
Incredible view and then we took a leisurely Mt. Bike ride down the road to get to the bottom, with a nice lunch break at a restaurant halfway down.
What a great experience.

Some tips:
It is really cold at the top - wear a jacket
It is really warm at the bottom - wear layers of clothes that you can easily take off at rest intervals.

Have a great time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,347
    282
    50
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It is worth the early morning and long drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We kind of put off doing this as we didn't want to leave at 4 in the morning and make the long drive up. Everyone kept telling us to go but we figured it was another "touristy" thing to do. Finally we listened to a bartender, Lucky, and decided to go.
The drive up was terrifying. Since it was so dark...and no guard rails.
It really was freezing up there! Being from Michigan we kind of shrugged people off. We were wearing sweatshirts and shorts and were so cold. Bring blankets! Seriously.
It was more cloudy than usual so I don't think it was as beautiful as it normally was...but it was still pretty fantastic. We were standing next to a woman who worked in the park and she was telling us things about the area and as the sun came up my wife was quietly said she wished there was music playing and all of a sudden the woman started chanting/singing a prayer to the sunrise and it was beautiful.
Well worth the drive and cold...unforgettable. Do it...it will be worth the tired you'll feel later. Promise

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Sliding Sands Trail in, Halemau'u Trail Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

On the first day in Haleakala National Park, we drove to the summit. Yes it was very cold and windy, but there were few clouds in the sky and visibility was incredible. It really looked like were were on another planet. On day 2, we came back with our hats, gloves, pants, and wind jackets (yes you should pack these items for Hawaii if you are planning to hike across the crater) to hike the Sliding Sands Trail to the Halemau'u Trail. The visibility was far less than the day before, but we knew a hike down through the clouds would be an awesome experience. We parked our car at the Halemau'u trailhead and hitch-hiked (there is an official area for this purpose) to the Sliding Sands Trailhead, thanks to a friendly Canadian couple. Starting at 9720 feet, the first 3.9 miles of the trail are mostly downhill. We then cut across (1.6 miles) to the Halemau'u Trail and took that back up and out (5.7 miles). About half of the Halemau'u Trail is uphill switchbacks, with some dropoffs. It is a strenuous hike at 7000 feet elevation, so take some food and plenty of water; we had 4 liters each. Throughout the whole hike we saw very few people (a few on the way in and out, and 1 person in the middle-something to keep in mind if you have health concerns). The 11.2 mile roundtrip hike took us about 6 hours; it was well worth every minute.


The National Park Service Map to plan your hike: http://www.nps.gov/hale/upload/Map-and-Descriptions.pdf

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Took a helocopter ride over it and a good portion of the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I reccommend pricing things out; however, the club has concierges and they usually can get you great prices. They are the folks I book my excursions through.
What is to dislike? We spent a fair amount of time in the air and the pilot pointed things out to us. I would reccommend a helocoptor tour of the crater and island!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited Mt. Haleakala as a shore excursion during our cruise of the Hawaiian Islands. We left a gray, dreary cruise pier and climbed above the clouds into the sunshine and a spectacular view of the crater. Even thougth we didn't have the option for a sunrise or sunset view, it was an amazingly beautiful view. Be prepared for colder temperatures, wind chill and thinner air. I was the only one of our group of friends who opted to make the climb to the higher viewing area and it was worth the effort. Being part of a tour gave us so much information, both on the way up the mountain and back down. Our driver/guide was a Maui native and had lots of great information to share with us about places plants, and people. See the crater--you"ll be glad you did!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haleakala Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haleakala Crater to your Saves list