We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but crowded during peak season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohe'o Gulch

Ohe'o Gulch
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Hiking, Camping, Swimming
Attraction Details
Calgary, AB
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice but crowded during peak season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We drove to the national park on January 4th. Within the park you can visit Oheo Gulch and hike on the Pipiwai Trail.

The Oheo Gulch was really crowded. I had my wife and two teenage daughters and felt that we were bumping into people trying to get photos.

There were people swimming in some of the pools. We didn't so maybe this impacted the fun factor. We basically took the 0.5 mile loop hike to the pools, took some photo's and left.

We all made the mistake of wearing flip flops (that's a story for another day). I didn't feel that comfortable climbing across rocks to get up to the upper pools. There were some that did so I can only assume that with a little effort it can be done.

Personally for my family the Pipiwai Trail was the highlight of this stop not Oheo Gulch.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    98
    17
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“amazing, hard to decsribe in words, must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The road to Hana is indeed a difficult drive but in the end it just seems worthwhile when you reach here.With the ocean as its backdrop and surrounded by bamboo jungles lies the watrefalls and the pools.You must visit here to actually see this place as it is hard to describe the beauty in words.Though it seems remote it is not secluded.There are a lot of people when you get there and the rangers are very helpful.The visitor center is informative too.You can swim in the pools but check at the visitor center because there may be flash floods and the pools can become violent in a fraction of a second.
Worth visiting this place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“most memorable maui experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

the drive, spectacular.. scary, but spectacular
the pools were incredible; we went in the dry season so couldn't swim under the 400 ft waterfall, but we showered in it and it made for some great photo opps. bamboo forest, and the banyan tree were also very cool. the hike was a great mixture of strenuous and relaxing; tons of great views, and beautiful pools to swim in. just make sure you can find a way out before you jump in.. word of advice.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The park is pretty, just wish you could still swim in the pools.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pretty and worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wish the pools where still open for swimming but worth the drive past Hana

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohe'o Gulch also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ohe'o Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohe'o Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.