We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but crowded during peak season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohe'o Gulch

Ohe'o Gulch
Haleakala National Park, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$444*
and up
Maui Day Trip: Hana Adventure from Oahu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Nice but crowded during peak season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We drove to the national park on January 4th. Within the park you can visit Oheo Gulch and hike on the Pipiwai Trail.

The Oheo Gulch was really crowded. I had my wife and two teenage daughters and felt that we were bumping into people trying to get photos.

There were people swimming in some of the pools. We didn't so maybe this impacted the fun factor. We basically took the 0.5 mile loop hike to the pools, took some photo's and left.

We all made the mistake of wearing flip flops (that's a story for another day). I didn't feel that comfortable climbing across rocks to get up to the upper pools. There were some that did so I can only assume that with a little effort it can be done.

Personally for my family the Pipiwai Trail was the highlight of this stop not Oheo Gulch.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ratnrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“amazing, hard to decsribe in words, must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The road to Hana is indeed a difficult drive but in the end it just seems worthwhile when you reach here.With the ocean as its backdrop and surrounded by bamboo jungles lies the watrefalls and the pools.You must visit here to actually see this place as it is hard to describe the beauty in words.Though it seems remote it is not secluded.There are a lot of people when you get there and the rangers are very helpful.The visitor center is informative too.You can swim in the pools but check at the visitor center because there may be flash floods and the pools can become violent in a fraction of a second.
Worth visiting this place.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank explore_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“most memorable maui experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

the drive, spectacular.. scary, but spectacular
the pools were incredible; we went in the dry season so couldn't swim under the 400 ft waterfall, but we showered in it and it made for some great photo opps. bamboo forest, and the banyan tree were also very cool. the hike was a great mixture of strenuous and relaxing; tons of great views, and beautiful pools to swim in. just make sure you can find a way out before you jump in.. word of advice.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank j622894140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The park is pretty, just wish you could still swim in the pools.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pretty and worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wish the pools where still open for swimming but worth the drive past Hana

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohe'o Gulch also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ohe'o Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing