We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Walk in the Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKittrick Canyon

McKittrick Canyon
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic canyon with unique animal and plant life.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“A Walk in the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

McKittrick Canyon is Guadalupe Peak's equal opposite in elevation gain (200 ft. v 3,000 ft.) and mileage (4.8 miles round trip v 8.4 miles) but it should not be missed. The trail provides incredible diversity in plant life due to the presence of a small stream. Because of the availability of water, the desert plants are some of the healthiest we have encountered outside a botanical garden. One Yucca we photographed is easily 40 feet tall.

An especially nice feature of this trail is that there is so much to see on the way. The landscape changes from desert to woodland. There is a the side trip to Pratt's cabin which is a marvel of stone architecture. The stone roof was especially unique. We sat near a small series of small rapids listening to the water and song birds. Next is the grotto, a shallow cavern of limestone stalagmites and stalactites that are still growing and finally the Hunter Ranch line cabin that signals the end of the trail. On our walk we encountered only five other people. If you can't find something to like on this hike, you're not looking. Detailed information and a map can be found on the National Parks website. It was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hike was a nice break from the desert dryness. There were lots of green trees and stunning vistas. We enjoyed a few minutes sitting on the porch of the Pratt Cabin, listening to the birds, then continued on to The Grotto. We saw a bat sleeping on a rock there. There were some other people on the trail but it wasn't terribly crowded. It was really hot, and we should have taken more water. Don't let the lush green-ness fool you. . . It's still the desert!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nothing special after Guadalupe peak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a mostly flat trail hiking along a mostly dry creek bed. We only hiked to homestead at mile 2.3 and then turned around. At one point in history, supposedly this was a very pretty spot but the creek is mostly gone and it is a mostly exposed hike. If you are in at least average shape and have 5-6 hours, I would definitely recommend the peak hike over this one. This may have gotten prettier farther down the trail as it extends for a while longer but we ran out of time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A most pleasant hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

May may not be the most beautiful time of year to make this hike, but it's still wonderful. The stream was still flowing. We passed precisely one other hiker on our five mile round trip. It's an easy walk.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Surprisingly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Like another review here, I really wanted to love this hike, which is highly recommended in NP literature and in our hiking guide. Our March hike was disappointing -- perhaps because it lacked spring green and fall color. We kept looking for something spectacular around the next corner, and never really found it. The rock and gravel of the pathway makes for difficult footing. We also hiked the Guadalupe Peak trail and found that trail easier on our feet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKittrick Canyon also viewed

Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
 
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
 

Been to McKittrick Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKittrick Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.