We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 42-mile Scenic Loop Drive

42-mile Scenic Loop Drive
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Paris, France
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Breathtaking mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After Yellowstone we drove down and through the park to spend the night in Jackson (a great little town!), then came back up through the park the next day. The views of the Teton Range from everywhere are breathtaking. We particularly enjoyed the views from Jenny Lake. A ranger there had some wolf skins and was giving a talk about wolves in the park. That is one of the nice touches that the park offers, real interaction with the rangers. The rangers are so knowledgable and it is a great opportunity to ask any questions. Even if I was never able to see wolves in the wild (here or at Yellowstone) it was nice to be able to get a close up look at their pelts and claws and be able to touch them. We never did see any wildlife in the park, much to my great disappointment, except loads of squirrels at the Cunningham Cabin Historic site. The Cunningham Cabin is a log cabin that was built as a homestead in 1888 by John Pierce Cunningham, who had subsisted as a trapper until he started this small ranch. His family then moved to Idaho as land was being acquired for the Grand Teton National Park, which was then established in 1929. For wildlife viewing I think it is best to get a very early start in the morning or make sure you go at dusk if you really want to have maximum viewing potential, which wasn't our case unfortunately.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want to see wildlife, do this drive. Watch out for stopped cars etc cause that is where you will see the wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,234 reviews 1,234 reviews
841 attraction reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
992 helpful votes 992 helpful votes
“A very majestic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We traveled from West Yellowstone to the Grand Tetons planning on driving the 42 mile loop; however, it took 3 and 1/2 hours to reach the south entrance (Moose) and by the time we traveled to Jackson Lake Jct, we had to head back to West Yellowstone. We only completed half the loop, but we stopped at every turnout (even the unique log Catholic Church), and enjoyed the entire trip. 360 miles and 9 hours. I would suggest others who plan to travel from Yellowstone to make it a two day trip...much easier and less stressful driving. I am glad we made the trip as the half that we saw was very majestic and reminded us of our trip to Alaska in our RV.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive you should not miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We drove the 42 mile Scenic loop drive and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The scenery was breath taking and plenty of places to pull over and enjoy the beauty of it all. Try it and you won't regret it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful drive. Lot of beautiful points of interest and photo opportunities. National park service map is a big help for stopovers at different points. It is a must do

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 42-mile Scenic Loop Drive also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to 42-mile Scenic Loop Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 42-mile Scenic Loop Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.