We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for National Park lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Jackson Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   101 Jackson Lake Lodge Rd., Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for National Park lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Those who are criticizing the rooms at Jackson Lake Lodge have probably never stayed in a national park. The whole point of JLL is to stay inside park boundaries, with the spectacular views and proximity of activities and wildlife. You don't come for luxury; if that's your priority, stay outside the park. That said, having stayed in several other parks (Bryce, Glacier, Yellowstone) I can assure you JLL has the best accommodations I have seen. We had two adjoining cabins, each with queen bed, for our family of four (two teens). Rooms were at the end of the 700 block and very private. Wish we could have splurged on a lake/mountain view room, but those were more expensive. The booking agent convinced me to buy the 4-night Grand Adventure package and that was my only regret. Except for one lunch, we had all-you-can-eat meals at our choice of restaurants at JLL (including the expensive Mural Room) or Colter Bay, but we got tired of eating there and wanted more flexibility. We enjoyed the included float trip but the horseback riding was too slow and beginner for us. I also thought all the activities would be a little closer to the lodge. Most importantly, we LOVED the Grand Tetons but were ready to leave by the 3rd day, yet we had one more night there. I would still highly recommend JLL.

Room Tip: Splurge on lake/mountain view if you can! End of 700 block has no view but is quiet and private, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    404
    146
    75
    31
See reviews for
450
467
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable and clean if not a little outdated. However, it did add to the overall charm of the place. It would have been nice to have had a small fridge and microwave in the room. Beds were wonderful. There's no AC so the days were slightly warm but by night the room was nice and cool. The staff was very accommodating. The views are fabulous! This aw our second trip to the Tetons and yet to tire of it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnet
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This seemed a bit pricey for what you get. It was the only park hotel that was still available several weeks ahead of trip. I rented a cabin/cottage more like motel because it attached to the other rooms. It was in a quiet area and the room was nice, but there was no view from the room except other cabins. However, the view from the back of the hotel was breathtaking. There is a large viewing area, but you could go out there even if you did not rent a room. Here is my beef. At this price and in this area, you would expect an indoor pool as it gets chilly at night. When we checked in, i asked about it and i was told it was outside. It was around 7:30pm so we assumed it would be open a few more hours. It was August, warm and still light outside. We went to the room and unpacked the car only to find out it closes at 8:00pm and did not open back up until 10:00 am. It would have been nice if front desk had of warned me that it was about to close. We would have hurried out there. My kids were unbelievably disappointed. We could not offer to swim in the morning because check out was 11:00am. We would not have had time to shower off and pack up. I thought this was in a small town, but the only restaurants are in the hotel complex. There is no free breakfast, which I knew, but It is limited on choices. I would recommend the restaurant breakfast buffet at $15.95 for adults. It was a delicious choice of breakfast, you feel pampered, and you get the view of the Tetons through the back windows. In the evening, understand that dinner in the restaurant is quite expensive. There was a 50s style diner, but it had no view at all and terribly crowded. We ended up at the bar, with a limited menu because we wanted to sit outside and enjoy the evening. It closes for food at 9:00. We would not eat here again. Food did not seem very fresh. Salads were good, but small. One other point is that the only thing that stays open late is the gift shops, conveniently. There is no tv, so after dark there are few options but to shop or go to bed. We wished we had chairs to sit outside our cabin. Some did, ours didn't. Also note there is no air conditioning, but you can open the windows for a breeze. We did enjoy our stay and they have great waiters and staff. Tip---you can talk to the park ranger in the back of the hotel. Also a nice walking path that is about a thirty min hike. Take time to look for wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The location of this lodge is what makes it unbeatable. Overlooking the Tetons and Jackson Lake is a view not to be missed. I would have given it five stars, but like other reviewers have noted, the lodge rooms themselves need some overdue renovations. We stayed in 564J, which was a cottage room with view, and what a spectacular view it was! From our patio, you looked out over the Tetons and the lake, and all the wildlife. Unbelievably beautiful and serene. The room, however, was pretty dreary. The bathroom was old, small, and not the cleanest. The shampoo dispenser in the shower was empty, the towels old and worn, tile grout dirty as well as the floor. The toilet leaked around the seal, and the pipes are loud, but everything was in working order. The beds themselves were actually pretty comfortable, and the linens and blankets were fine. The furniture was okay, with a small table and comfortable chairs inside. There is no a/c, so it does get hot if you leave the curtains open in the afternoon. You can open the windows, but if the screen is not sealed, you will get bugs and mosquitoes inside. The patio was nice with three Adirondack chairs and a small table. Thankfully, we didn't have loud people above us, or I'm sure it would have been bothersome. It reminded me of the Yosemite Lodge, where it's a motel 6 at best with a killer view in a killer locale. I paid $289 for it, and it was worth every cent. The food in the restaurants was very good and all staff encountered were very friendly and professional. If ever exploring Grand Teton again, I would definitely stay at this place.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms with view look out over the Teton range and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a great lodging option in the grand teton given the limited selection out there. But i will say this -- given the relatively modest price difference between the moose pond view and the other rooms, it is really not worth spending the money if you are not staying in the moose pond rooms (see pic attached). Also -- pick a room on second floor -- better views, less mosquitos.

Many people who are looking at this lodging will also compare it with Jenny Lake lodge -- i did check out Jenny lake as well -- the main plus with that one being it was closer to all the beautiful trails in the string lake / leigh lake area, although given the 2x price difference (even after adjusting for food) and the better views wit jackson lake lodge, i dont think it is worth it compared to the moose pond view rooms.

I do like the fact that they provide free supply of cold filtered water -- why dont more hotels do this?

Food -- the diner is decent, although it can get hot and crowded. the selection was adequate.

Only gripe I had was -- the relatively inexperienced staff. I understand it is a coporation that runs a bunch of stuff throughout the park and they have yound employees, but the concierge etc should atleast be manned by people who know what they are talking about -- simple things like having views/opinions on the best driving route from the lodge to salt lake city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jackson Lake Lodge for 2 nights in a king cottage room in the 500 block. You can drive up to these motor lodge style accommodations and you'll have a short walk to the main lodge, restaurants etc. Yes, you'll have to walk - really disturbing in a NP!!
We were on the lower cottage floor with a private patio, deck chairs and a table - and an
AMAZING view of the Tetons! Large, clean room with small bathroom and a sink area, no TV, no AC. These rooms may need updating but are still a lot better than most of the NP accommodations I have come by. If you apply your average Hilton standards to a room in a National Historic Landmark within one of the most beautiful NPs you'd better go to Jackson and get a normal hotel room.
We enjoyed the Pioneer Grill with the counter for breakfast and tried the fine dining room with good but overpriced food. The lobby and lodge deck have breathtaking views of the mountains and the flats where you can spot wildlife most every day. Good gift shop with quality items.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Anywhere else our cottage room would receive about 2 stars. The fixtures need updating (showerhead had very low pressure and calcification caused water to shoot in all directions), towels are thin and rough, soap and shower gel dry your skin and lotion dispenser was empty, the bathroom constantly smelled like sweage, pillows were lumpy, walls were thin, etc. There is no A/C; our windows only opened a few inches and the fan squeaked and wobbled alarmingly so it was hard to keep the room cool. There is no fridge or microwave though there is a safe and phone (no tv or wifi either but given the setting that's probably a good thing.) You should expect more for $238/night.
All that said, the location and view (from the main lodge...most cottages have no view) are spectacular. Service was friendly even towards the end of the season and both the grill and the Mural Room served good food. If you can keep your expectations for your room low and think to yourself that you're paying for the location, it's worth a stay. Try the Swan Lake/Heron Pond trail one morning (we saw a moose with two calves and several pairs of talkative Sandhill cranes) and look for animals on the flats between the hotel and the lake in the evening (we even heard wolves howl). If you want to escape the park, Jackson is only about an hour away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Lake Lodge

Address: 101 Jackson Lake Lodge Rd., Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jackson Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff overlooking Jackson Lake with the Teton Range as a backdrop, this full-service resort hotel offers lodging, dining, meeting space, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Jackson Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Lake Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Jackson Lake Lodge Wyoming
Jackson Lake Wyoming
Jackson Lake Lodge Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.