We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Informative way to view the Tetons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solitude Float Trips

Solitude Float Trips
Grand Teton National Park, WY 83012
+1 307-733-2871
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Informative way to view the Tetons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Michael was our guide, and I believe it was his last float of the season. He was so personable! While our eyes were feasting on the Tetons and the wildlife, he was explaining to us all about the park and its inhabitants. The evening really brought out the wildlife too. We saw a dozen bald eagles, a few osprey, a moose, several beavers, mergansers, and I'm sure I'm forgetting something, but it was just amazing!
The trip was well organized, and we always felt safe and comfortable.
We can't wait to get back there an stay a little longer. We'll be contacting Solitude for that trip as well!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Snake River Experience Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

An absolute great way to relax and see wildlife while leisurely floating down the Snake River! We met our guide Mike at the visitors center parking lot, Van was very punctual 5 pm sharp!, plenty roomy for the party of 12. Ride to launch was short and comfortable. After everyone unloaded Mike provided details of trip and a VERY detailed safety instructions. (required) The trip was VERY safe so please do not worry about encountering any thing unsafe! Launched raft and everyone easily boarded, raft was very comfortable with plenty of room for everyone. They could easily fit 4 or 6 more but choose for everyone to be comfortable and enjoy the trip. We floated 10 miles in calm water flowing about 5 MPH, a very enjoyable pace. Mike provided lots of details about the area and his knowledge was a tremendous asset to the trip. Mike was the best guide ever, very good at communicating and adding real life stories which were very interesting. On our trip we saw 12 Bald Eagles, numerous beavers, osprey and 2 moose. Never a dull moment! We spent 8 days in Yellowstone and Tetons, this trip was by far our greatest experience!! We were on the water about 2 hours, cannot wait to do this again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I can't recommend this experience enough. It was the best part of our whole 10-day trip through Wyoming. Imagine spending a couple of hours floating in a big raft down a beautiful mountain river...no stress, no effort...just drifting along, looking at the blue sky and the beautiful mountains, watching for bald eagles and other wildlife. Then toss in an experienced guide, who can answer all your questions. I swear that Mike has Superman vision. He can spot an eagle or an osprey from miles away. It was an absollutely amazing morning.

(And Solitude, if you read this, please tell Mike that he's correct...Dornan's has the best view from a barstool of anyplace in the world!)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent an afternoon on Snake River with Jeff, what a walking encyclopaedia he is about the wildlife, the history of the area and anything else you wanted to ask. We were picked up at 1.30 pm, transported upstream in a minibus and then after a safety talk were on the river.
2 blissful hours later, in wonderful weather and after having spotted numerous bald eagles we were at the end of our trip.
I would suggest that the morning or the evening trips are perhaps the best for spotting a variety of wildlife but it was wonderful to experience the peace and quiet that comes with being on the river.
A definite to do in you are visiting the Tetons

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adventure without the gear and exhaustion!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Halfway through the skies opened up and the thunder roared and lightening came and went - and I still give it a 5 - so I strongly recommend everyone does this. We took a Tuesday 9:30 AM float trip. We were originally scheduled for the previous day at 5PM and at 3:00 PM a huge storm went through and we called and they were very kind to let us reschedule. Andy was our guide and from the vans pulling up to getting on the raft - through the tour - the rain - he was great - you are taken care - i.e. feel safe - so you can just relax and enjoy the ride and the views and the animals. I was 4 months out of a knee replacement and no problem getting in/getting out etc.. There is a bit of a walk after the trip back to where you parked your car - maybe 6 city blocks long - in case anyone has any mobility issues. We had driven through Yellowstone and a bit around Jackson Hole - but being on the river and so close to the nature - it is truly a different, unique and wonderful experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solitude Float Trips also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Solitude Float Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solitude Float Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.