We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Canyon

Cascade Canyon
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic canyon excellent for hiking.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are a family with fairly active,older kids- I would advise taking the ferry across the lake (lovely ride) and hiking thru Inspiration point into the Canyon- it's so full of great views! We never got as far as the forks - since we had to head back based on time, but I'd say we got a couple of miles in before turning around,and it was wonderful! We stopped and had lunch at Inspiration Point first. I wish we had had the time to continue onward. Very very nice,and we had a great day hiking here. We also enjoyed the use of the borrowed trekking poles, handy on those steep grades.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cascade Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Love hiking up Cascade Canyon. Watch for Pika, Moose and maybe a Bear!!
The first part of the hike, after you cross Jenny Lake is steep but after the fist 1/2 mile it levels out and you have wonderful views of the mountains on either side of you

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My favorite hike in GTNP and Yellowstone! Everywhere you turn there is beauty and wildlife. We saw a moose, a marmot and a bear, as well as, countless birds. In June the wildflowers are eye-popping! If you plan to hike far into the canyon or finish your hike with walk around Jenny Lake then I suggest you take the boat across the lake first thing in the morning. Save yourself for hiking far into the canyon! The climb up the steep rocky ledge can be daunting, but persevere. You will be greatly rewarded for your labor. Please go on beyond Inspiration Point. It just gets better and better. I agree that you should take all day, so you can go as far as possible into the canyon. You'll be glad you did! My family and I loved this hike so much that we had a painting commissioned so we could be reminded of the beauty of the place every day. (As for when I visited it was June of 2007 but that was not an option.)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly Pristine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The snow peaked Tetons tower over you on one side, while you hike along the cool river and surrounded by forest. Absolutely one of my top 3 hikes in all the National Parks. A great day hike, not too strenuous, but give yourself a full day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
229 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well worth the hike beyond Inspiration Point. Adds only a little time on to the whole lake circuit but recommended. You can turn round as soon as you feel you have gone far enough so it's up to you!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade Canyon also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Cascade Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.