We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for a relaxing vacation with children and the dogs will enjoy it as well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colter Bay Village to your Saves list
Colter Bay Village
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver
1 review
“Fantastic place for a relaxing vacation with children and the dogs will enjoy it as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with our 3 small children and 2 golden retrievers and had a wonderful time! The cabins are rustic but very clean along with very comfortable beds. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is very relaxed yet there are plenty of activities to fill your day. We stayed at Colter Bay at the end of a 2 week road trip throughout the west and it was our favorite stop.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    291
    121
    47
    23
See reviews for
297
256
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Booked a two bedroom cabin sight unseen. We were trying to find a reasonable price in the Tetons or Jackson Hole areas, but not much luck. I came upon Colter Bay Village and they were offering what I thought was a pretty good price for a two bedroom cabin, $199. You can't touch that price in the Jackson Hole or Teton area for anything with positive ratings. So I thought I'd try it. The cabins are historic. They were all brought into the resort about 100 years ago and then were brought up to date through the years. They are charming, rustic, not fancy, but had nice decor and adequate furnishings. I just loved it. The location is right on Jackson Lake in the middle of the Tetons. Breathtaking views, great hiking trails, great restaurants, general store and a really neat Native American restaurant. Highly recommend it and will definitely go back. Take some bug spray though - they sell a great Eucalyptus and citrus one at the General store. Worked well. It was my birthday an we had a wonderful fine dining experience in the Ranch House. No Internet or TV though, but who needs it in that location!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Colter Bay Village is about 30 miles from the Jackson Hole Airport. We stayed here two nights after camping in Yellowstone. It was like the lap of luxury after camping. As a previous reviewer wrote, "if you don't already know you have to understand that everything in Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are somewhat overpriced compared to what you get in most other parts of the country." These were great compared to the cabins in Canyon Village we visited in Yellowstone. Our duplex log cabin in Colter Bay more than acceptable, but don't expect lots of amenities + there were soap/shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. Our cabin had two double and one twin bed in a single room. We could hear our duplex neighbors occasionally though not loudly, and you could also hear when the neighbor's had the shower running. The bathroom is small, but it served its function, and its not like you are going to spend a lot of time inside your cabin while visiting the Grand Tetons or Yellowstone. The mattresses were fine, the room very clean, and no mosquitoes to speak of; however if you leave your door open, even for a short time, in the evening or morning you can expect the visitors to come flying in. Perhaps previous mosquito issues were b/c of early or late day cleanings.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got ice from the ice machine to fill up our small cooler. There was Wifi at the office (or from your car parked outside). Note that currently cell phone signals are spotty down by the lake but better in the cabin area.

The grocery provided the necessities - wonderful homemade cinnamon buns (caramel-cinnamon at the gas station - yum). There are two restaurants on site - one sit down and one cafeteria style. We only used the cafeteria style one at which the food was pretty good. For great pizza and ice cream head up to Leek's marina a few miles up the road - awesome crust.

The visitor center in Colter Village is OK - nothing compared to the new one in Moose. We did the morning buffet cruise to Elk Island. The food was very good and the boat ride was fun and educational. Be aware the am is mosquito time, but the staff had plenty of Off on hand. We also did the GTLC sunset float trip. The was very relaxing, and Steve was a good experienced guide. Although now bears or wolves, we did see beaver, eagles, herons, osprey, elk and even a full rack bull moose at the end. Next time we would do the 645a for maybe a little more wildlife and better lighting on the Tetons. Make sure you do the hike to hidden falls and inspiration point, but there are also good hike around String Lake and Leigh Lake

We also stayed two nights at the beginning of our trip in the Coulter Bay Village Tent Cabins. This is basically two wooden walls and two canvas walls. The wooden walls are in X shape with another cabin on your back or front side (hope your neighbors are considerate). Essentially this is fancy camping. There are two bunks on each wall with thin but adequate mattresses. The community bathrooms were fine and the community showers very clean. Note that as a visitor to Colter Bay Village you can use the pool at Jackson Lake Lodge - free hot water showers as long as you are not right after another group who used up all the hot water ;-o. Our experience was fine the first two night, but we are glad we did not stay here on the way out as it was the beginning of Pioneer Days and there were some rowdy folks staying in the tent cabins. if you sleep lightly. I would recommend earplugs regardless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed in a cabin with one double and a single - it was the only reasonably priced accommodation in the park that we could find on a July weekend. There are quite a few cabins here and some have better locations that others - make sure you ask for a quiet one up the back. Also, because the cabins were sourced from different locations they are all different sizes - we had a massive one, although the bathroom was a bit on the tidgy side. Can't understand what people are complaining about - I certainly didn't go on holiday to GTNP to complain about the lino in the cabins - get a grip!

We went on a float trip with GTLC - we did the 6.45 am one - early but you have the advantage that no one else is out. It also leaves from much further up the Snake River at Moran Junction and you get out of the raft at Deadman's Bar (where the 10 am people get in - this place was very busy). It also means that you get views of the Tetons from far away and then relatively close. Apparently this is a good section for wolf and bear sighting - but we didn't see any. Sam (a Jackson Lake local) was an excellent guide. Be careful of trip that don't float 100% within the park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Our trip was about white water rafting out of Jackson and hanging out in Jackson and enjoying the Tetons. These cabins are roomy and though basic are nice. You can spread out your stuff and not feel claustrophobic. If you want to hike and boat and ride horses this is the place to be. But its 45 minutes from Jackson. The view of the Tetons from the lake is awesome, but we could only look at them for about 5 minutes before going on. Our room had two full beds and a twin. My boys picked this place as their favorite since they got their own bed. However if Jackson is your real destination try to stay closer to there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed in a cabin with two double beds and one single bed. The cabin was large and the lighting was just barely adequate. The cabins are historic log affairs trucked over from their original sites at Jackson Lake Lodge, but their floors are ugly, institutional linoleum. The cabins don't have refrigerators or microwave ovens, supposedly because of substandard wiring, but more likely because the concessionaire wants you to spend your bucks at one of its restaurants rather than at one of Jackson's grocery stores.

The cabins are also located in an ugly little village that looks more like a military barracks than anything else. Furthermore, most of the cabins are located far from the lake, and a lot of them are located close to the restaurants, which in the mornings blast out a very loud machinery noise. Awaken to the glorious sounds of nature in this Wyoming wilderness!

But you're probably stuck here in Colter Bay Village because the other choices are already booked up or are too expensive. Okay, that's fine. You're here for the scenery anyway, not the room. Just keep your expectations low and you'll do fine. Just understand that these are not cute cabins in the woods. These are adequate though overpriced accomodations located in a really beautiful park.

By the way, Jenny Lake Lodge looked incredibly wonderful. Stay THERE, if you can afford it. Ha!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you don't already know you have to understand that everything in Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are somewhat overpriced compared to what you get in most other parts of the country. That being said our cabin in Colter Bay Village while basic in ammenties was more than acceptable. When we first walked into the room I was somewhat taken back by the fact that the cabin was truely a log cabin with the inside walls being logs and the rooms are rustic and basic and the look was something I really liked. Our cabin had two double and one twin bed in a single room duplex cabin. The log wall must be very soundproof because we never heard our neighbors. The cabin was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and while small the bathroom was worked fine for our family of 4 including 2 teenagers. The only real downside for the cabins was the lack of a table for eating on and the amount of drawer space for putting away clothes. We packed some extra hangers so the drawer space wasn't too much of a problem. We were glad that we packed an extension cord to extend blow dryers etc to mirrors within the cabin. The staff was very accomodating and quick to provide anything we needed which was just a couple of extra pillows. The maid service was always done well. The lodge office had wireless internet along with a computer for public use for checking email etc.
The Colter Bay location is somewhat north in GTNP but we were quickly and easily able to get most everywhere we wanted to go within GTNP for wildlife watching and hiking. We even mad e 2 drives to Jackson which was less than 45 minutes from Colter Bay Village.
While we loaded up on slightly less expensive groceries in Jackson before heading up to the parks the store at Colter Bay Village was very well supplied with everything from drinks, snacks, groceries, to souveniers.
There are nightly National Park Service presentations and events at the amplitheater next to the Park Museum in Colter Bay VIllage that are well worth checking into. There are different topics every night. The night we went was really neat because as we listened to the Ranger talk and watched a video on GTNP there was deer that kept wanding in and around the amplitheater giving us another neat experience.
We really enjoyed our experience at Colter Bay Village.
The only issue thoroughout Colter Bay Village, GTNP and Yellowstone were the swarms of mosquitos that would come out about sundown .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Address: Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colter Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.