We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin in the woods is a real vacation value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colter Bay Village to your Saves list
Colter Bay Village
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Centreville, Maryland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Cabin in the woods is a real vacation value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visiting the Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone has become an annual tradition in the last few years, since rediscovering the place I first stayed as a teenager with my family. Now, we go and enjoy the perfect weather just as it's getting hot and steamy back East. Decided to try the cabins at Colter Bay Village for a six-night stay, and was really pleased. First, it's a great value, especially compared to other more upscale options within the parks or even the high-priced hotels in Jackson. At $155 per night, the cabin was basic but clean and exactly as advertised. Some cabins are stand-alone; others duplexed, but be sure to get one with private bath as we did. Ours was more quiet than expected, and right in the woods, laid out beautifuly amongst the trees and spreads of wild lupines. No AC, TV, etc., but why would you want that? The only issue we had (expected in the woods) were some spiders and ants that had to be squashed from time to time. The hot water worked great, and the shower had better pressue than most hotels do. The really great thing about Colter Bay is the location, just 18 miles from the south entrance to Yellowstone; close to the other attractions within the Grand Teton park; close to the amenities and fine restaurant at Jackson Lake Lodge; and just 45 minutes from Jackson Hole Airport. Colter Bay Village has a great marina, and the setting is beautiful. We loved kayaking just steps from our cabin with a good supply without a wait. We rented two single kayaks for three hours for $90. What a fantastic activity so close. The bookstore, convenience store, general store, all had good supplies, including hand-dipped ice cream! The two restaurant options, in the same building are an easy walk from the cabins; and we had breakfast there every day. The buffet is a good value, but there are other options like great (huge) pancakes; trout (had this three times!); and even steak and eggs. Coming back late one night from Yellowstone, we were glad the Cafe Court was open until 10pm for a sandwich and beer. Just up the road, don't miss Leek's Marina for some great pizza. At $155 per night, this was a great value, in a great location, with friendly staff and scenery that simply cannot be beat. Stand at the marina and view the Tetons, and you will never want to leave.

Room Tip: There are cabins laced throughout the woods. Some are closer to the lake and ours was up at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review of Colter Bay Village. One of the great things about Colter Bay is that it has become a family tradition for many people who visit year after year! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    291
    121
    47
    23
See reviews for
297
256
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Our RV site was in an area where you can see the bay and Tetons through the trees and within a short walk to the beach and picnic area nearby. It had many trees and other plants. It was much different than I had imagined. The buildings, marina, stores, visitors center were natural wood frame with rustic and comfortable feel much to our delight. I had pictured a more commercial look.
The staff in the camp office was great and very helpful.
Our campsite had full hook ups which worked well. We needed our leveling blocks on one side but otherwise it was a good pull through. Some of the sites were less level and steep. The sites were close but staggered so that it didn't feel crowded. We liked it there so much that we decided to cancel our reservations at Fishing Bridge and stay longer in Colter Bay, since we had already spent a week in Yellowstone. We weren't able to keep our site as it was reserved for another party but we moved to the campground next door for 3 nights and loved it as well. There are a few sites with electric hookups intended for handicapped but if not booked can be obtained first come first served. The village had a great laundry, good general store, marina where you can purchase Wyoming fishing license and book outings.The weather was windy, nights were cold but most days
comfortable. Wifi wasn't working most places but we were able to connect at the cafe. Overall we loved our stay at Colter Bay and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our three nights in Colter Bay. The cabin was cozy and clean with a private bathroom and shower. We appreciated the simplicity and found the location to the general store and visitor center really convenient but not intrusive. We would stay here again and again. It was hard to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After a smooth check-in by very hospitable people we found a cabin of enormous size. It even had an extra single bed in it which was easily absorbed by the cabin size. All was clean, and the bathroom was much larger than what we had experienced in other parks. Located close to the reception where we could use the public computer (or get WiFi for our laptop), equally close to cafeteria and restaurant. General Store, Post Office and the lake with wonderful trails are all nearby.

Room Tip: We didn't see other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent June 21-24th at the cabins at Colter Bay. The cabin had all the basic amenities (electricity, running water, private bath, shampoo, soap, and towels) and was the perfect place to launch our adventurous days in the park. However, we had breakfast at The Ranch House Restaurant on our first morning in the park, and I can honestly say, unequivocally, it was the single worst meal I have ever had. We did the breakfast buffet and the eggs were cold and runny, the French toast so dry it was hard as a rock, and the orange juice was so concentrated it tasted like pure sugar. The waitstaff, although very kind, was terribly slow. We sat for at least 25 minutes before we were offered coffee and could tell a waitress we were just going to do the buffet. At $13.50 a piece, I was genuinely astounded at how terrible the meal was. We spent the rest of the stay walking to the general store for coffee and a light breakfast of yogurt, fruit, or a pastry. We also ate at the cafe, which was infinitely better, but still not great. In the park, we enjoyed Trappers at Signal Mountain and the Mural Dining Room at the Jackson Lake Lodge. Pricey, but quite good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Colter Bay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at our cabins and were able to take advantage of the many adventures located around the Park. At the Ranch House, we offer both a buffet and various menu items. It sounds like we didn't meet your expectations for the buffet, but we are working for continuous improvement always, and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again at Colter Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the Full Hook-up RV park at Colter Bay. Our site was a pull through, which most seemed to be, with lots of space and shade. No views and not level, but close to the grocery store, gift shop, visitors center & activities center. Perfect stay for exploring this beautiful park. We even got to see Grizzly Mama #399 with her three cubs on the main road near the entrance of Colter Bay. Gas station and propane refill available. A bit expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice place to stay for our family of 6 -- two teens, two adults & two kids. 4 beds. what a treat for two of us!

the cabins were built in the 30s, and were very rustic and clean. The kids all liked how spacious the cabins were and how there was so much room to spread out!! we did not miss the tv and phones. it was relaxing without them.

We got a two-room, 4-bed cabin with a basic bathroom and small hallway connecting the two rooms. it was not deluxe, but it came with towel service and housekeeping every day. Info written and posted on the history of the cabins which we enjoyed.

my husband can remember staying there as a child. thank you for such a nice time, and now our kids will remember their time staying at colter bay!

Room Tip: book early. located decently to yellowstone, and throughout grand tetons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Address: Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colter Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.