We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colter Bay Village Campground with a toddler and baby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colter Bay Village to your Saves list
Colter Bay Village
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013   |  
Hotel amenities
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Colter Bay Village Campground with a toddler and baby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Colter Bay campground for one week from June 22-June28, 2011. We were camping with a two-year-old and a six-month-old, so our perspective is a little different than it would be if we were still just a couple camping alone. First, my apologies to any unfortunate groups that camped near us that week. :) We stayed in loop F, specifically site F132, which was absolutely wonderful! There is a big, open grassy space behind the campsite, so you really do feel like you are all alone out in the wilderness. We loved it! Also, we had a HUGE tent (a REI Kingdom 8 with both vestibules) and it actually fit on the site. It would not have fit on some of the other sites because of all the trees. In our loop, all of the sites are really big. It's just that some are divided because the fire pit is right in the middle of the campsite.

I liked that our campsite was right next to the bathroom, yet the view is mostly obscured by the trees. Being close to the bathroom is key with toddlers. Also, this site is a "back in" site so the vehicle needs to be able to back into the campsite, not just pull up along side it.

The F loop is great because it's one of the closest to the entrance and there is a walking path that goes down to the Colter Bay Village area. Our loop was really quiet with most campsites turning over every day or two. I think we were the only ones that stayed for a whole week. Almost all of the sites are really close to the bathrooms.

The bathrooms do not have showers and only have ice cold water in the sinks. There are no paper towels or hand dryers. There was a bar of soap to wash hands but I am sure that was just left there by a considerate (female) camper (the men's restroom did not have soap). There is a dishwashing area in between the male and female bathrooms. It was okay but did not have any hot water or any place to set your dishes. It's really just designed for dumping your dirty dish water.

One major thumbs up for this campground is that EVERY site has a bear box; and, they are easy to open and close. I mention this because Yellowstone did not have this. They had maybe three boxes for 20 sites and the boxes were nearly impossible to open and close. It was so wonderful having the bear box right on site, especially since you are required to completely clean up your site every time you leave (to include tablecloths, paper towels, and water bottles).

Overall, I really loved Colter Bay area. It's beautiful and there are a lot of amenities right there (there is wifi in the laundry facility). The campground was beautiful and with all the trees you really do feel like you are all alone (for the most part). The campground was full almost every night we were there, particularly later in the week. Also, F loop is a tent only loop, which was really nice.

I highly recommend Colter Bay campground! It was beautiful and peaceful....just bring some allergy meds if you are allergic to pollen. It was EVERYWHERE!!!!!! Oh yeah, there were a ton of mosquitoes, too. Bring some major repellent!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    291
    121
    47
    23
See reviews for
297
256
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed in Colter Bay cabins for three nights. So beautiful and rustic. Our friends were in the adjoining cabin. Walls are very thin but that is to be expected and presented no problem. Very clean throughout and beds made every day. We would stay there again on our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night and we had an amazing stay. The "room" was actually a little private log cabin, really spacious and with two comfortable queen beds and one single bed. The walls were wood-panelled and the furniture was western-style. Everything was clean, also the bathroom (small but decorous). There's no TV and no refrigerator, but it's all part of the ambience. It's very cold at night, also in July, but the cabin has a heating system and a lot of quits are provided. There's a charming view from the windows. Two restaurants are available both for breakfast and for dinner, with a good choice of meals.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We recently stayed at Colter Bay RV park in our 32 foot motor home. This is a beautiful campground. Spacious pull though full hook up sites, lots of trees, peaceful and calm. Grand Teton Park is an amazingly beautiful place, we spent 2 days would have liked to stay a few more. The staff at the campground and in the village were knowledgeable and helpful. A little pricey for a campground but overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Tent was clean. Our request for sleeping bags and pillows made at the time of reservation was honored. 65$ per night for 4 beds makes it very affordable. Colter Bay is at the northern side. We came in from Dubois late afternoon and got to see great view of the Teton Range. Simply stated, it is SPECTACULAR!

Doug was a great help. Customer service was top notch. Our first experience with a wood burning stove for heating went off well, thanks to Doug!

Few spiders and lots of bugs/mosquitoes. Remember to keep the tent closed as much as possible and you will be ok.

Neighbors were not considerate. Kids/adults were talking loud well after mid-night:-(

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We camped here twice during June(8-10) and(25-30) in a motor home. We had full hookups, and great wooded sites both times(loop C). It was a short walk to the General Store/laundary/marina, visitors center. This is the nicest campground in either the Tetons or Yellowstone. The General Store has a nice little grocery store(deli meats were very reasonably priced), and great gift shop. Laundary had lots of washers/dryers, and if I remember correctly it was $1.50 a load. There are several tables to sit at ,and it had a decent WIFI connection. It also had showers at $3.75 a person, family cost $12 and change. Visitors Center has a wonderful free Indian museum, gift shop, ranger presentations and movies about the parks in their auditorium. We saw a great one about the reintroduction of wolves to Yellowstone. At the marina you can rent kayaks, canoes, fishing boats. We did go on a 11/2 hr cruise around Jackson Lake that was lovely-$30 a person. You can hike near the lake, picnic etc. At the Colter Bay Lodge reception cabin, there is internet service. Cell phone reception was sporadic, but you can get it at any of the lodges, on top of mountains while driving, and on the main turn into Colter Bay rv park. If you see people walking around on a corner, talking on cell phones--that's the place to make your calls. I even had service in my rv-some days. Cost of camping there, was a bit pricey- $39 plus tax a night using Senior Pass--$10 off regular price--it was well worth it. Drive down the road to Leeks Marina for good pizza. Jenny Lake has a beautiful marina also. For $10 rountrip you can catch a boat there to one of the mountains and hike up to Hidden Falls- a half mile trip.. Or,not hike all the way-pack a lunch- you are warned about bears, but we didn't see any. Boat goes back anf forth aprrox. every 15 minutes. One day we packed a lunch and chairs and took the "scenic drive"- you'll see signs- and picknicked at Jenny Lake. At Jackson Lodge, we ate at the Mural Room which was fabulous. We sat at the full length window that overlooks the mountains. Cost around $140, with drinks and tip. There is a less expensive restaurant right next to the Mural Room. Go to Jackson Lodge and sit on the comfy sofas or walk outside and enjoy the scenery. And, it has 3 gift shops! There is so much to do in the Tetons. We saw bears everyday, tons of bison, elk. moose etc.- we were not disappointed! It's only an hours drive to Jackson and 50 minutes to Jackson Hole. We enjoyed every minute of our stay(as did our dog)-lots to see and do!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I'm glad we stayed at the tent cabins cause I'd never tried anything like it before. But my mom who had not wanted to stay in a regular tent told me I better never book a tent cabin for her again.

The tent cabins are very basic. There was some debris on the top bunk but besides that was clean enough. The upper bunks don't have a rail to them so if you are someone who rolls off the bed sometimes or are a sleepwalker - for your safety, don't sleep in one of the upper bunks. The bunks were fairly comfortable though. You should definitely bring a flashlight cause it is pretty dark in those cabins without one, even during the day (unless you keep the door open).

The tent cabins are very large in size so you have lots of room, both inside and outside the cabins. You get your own fire ring and picnic table The cabin really keeps you warm if you are sleeping in a sleeping bag. I thought I would need to build a fire in the provided heater stove at night since it was around 50 degrees outside then but we were actually too hot in our bags until we took off the sweatshirt and pants we were wearing. There is no lock to the tent cabin doors so it is about as secure as a tent is.

Overall, I think financially you are better off bringing your own tent and may even like it more cause the bunks did feel less clean to me than my own tent would (though they were pretty clean with the exception of the mild debris I found). However, if you just don't want to hall a tent around, these tent cabins are decent enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Address: Colter Bay on Jackson Lake, PO Box 240, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colter Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.