We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yavapai Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yavapai Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yavapai Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ok but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lodge accommodation was expensive but so is all accommodation in the park. Rooms were large, comfortable and quiet in one of several blocks in forest environment.5-10 minute walk to the rim and 2 minutes walk to the market square.not keen on the cafeteria environment of the self service restaurant on site. But very convenient for the supermarket, bank and shuttle bus stops.i would book again if staying at the south rim.

Room Tip: You cannot choose your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    1,063
    589
    102
    30
See reviews for
821
840
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night before hiking into the the Grand Canyon and staying at Bright Angel Campground. Got there about 8.30pm and checked in easily and then went straight to the cafe next to the reception as it shut at 9pm. It was fine, just had pizza - was slightly chaotic, loads of people wanting things and there didn't seem to be proper queues for anything so felt like a bit of a free for all, but the food was fine.

The room itself was actually better than what I was expecting though I'm not sure exactly WHAT I was expecting lol! Room was clean, bathroom was clean and I slept well. Reception kindly let us leave one of our bags with valuables in while we were inside the canyon and were really helpful the next day when we needed to drive to Bright Angel Lodge for the bus.

Would definitely stay here again. Had no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Yavapai Lodge (at least the East buildings) have recently been renovated and brought up-to-date. The rooms are clean & comfortable, as are the en-suite bathrooms. Snuggled among pines, the four buildings are just a walking distance from the bus stop (hat down to the NPS for such an efficient public transportation system) and the General Store, as well as the Yavapai Cafeteria.
The latter is overpriced, poorly tended to (nearly everything we had there was either undercooked or lukewarm), and generally not a recommended choice. For good dining experiences, it is far better to travel to El Tovar Restaurant (quite good) or the Arizona Room at the Bright Angel Lodge. But as far as lodging, the Yavapai Lodge is a good choice.
Warning: Wi-Fi is only accessible in the Cafeteria, and is rather iffy & sluggish at that, and cellular data is hard to get from the rooms as the buildings are on the far edge of reception potential. The Lodge could stand to upgrade its Wi-Fi server and should expand it to the guest houses for sure; that was sorely disappointing.
Warning #2: AC is only provided in the East buildings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Super clean hotel and nicely updated. I was impressed. I was hoping it would be closer to the rim, but I was surprised to even be able to stay IN the park -- so I'm not complaining. The staff were friendly, though the restaurant next-door looked a little uninspiring so we decided to eat elsewhere. EXCELLENT value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful and the location in the Park was terrific. There was a small supermarket near the accommodation, which was also very much appreciated

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, UT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at the Yavapai Lodge in the Grand Canyon, South Rim. Considering the reservation was made 1 week before arriving, 1) I was just glad we were able to get a room and 2) the $166 didn't seem unreasonable.

Staff was pleasant upon check-in. The check-in time is 4pm, which seems a bit late for my taste, but we went about our way, enjoying the park until then.

We had a room in the East lodge. It was a room with 2 double beds. Refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, iron & board as well as a nice tv and an iPhone docking station were welcomed ammenities.

Beds were compfy and the a/c worked well. Apparently, some rooms don't have a/c, so if it's important to you, be sure to specify.

Our room was on the first floor, first room in the hallway. Despite the location and the fact there was a small army of children in the next room, we slept peacefully, without disturbance.

We've stayed in Tusyan on previous trips to the canyon and found this arrangement much more convenient.

Room Tip: East Lodge w/ a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 2 delightful nights at Yavapai Lodge East. The room we stayed Inwas set off the road in the trees making a lovely quiet place to sleep. The room was a really good size and was very clean. The shampoo and shower gel provided was nice added treat. I liked that it was away from the crowds in the village where El Tovar and Bright Angel Lodge are situated but was within walking distance to the deli and market place. There was a shuttle bus stop a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yavapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yavapai Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yavapai Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Yavapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yavapai Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Yavapai Lodge Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yavapai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.