We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yavapai Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yavapai Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yavapai Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time staying at this lodge. Nice location to the rim with average size rooms. The lodge is old but in nice condition. For the money it is a good valve. The staff was helpful with making arrangements for several rooms in advance. Would stay at the lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    971
    533
    95
    28
See reviews for
732
769
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked Yavapai Lodge just a few days before we got to the Grand Canyon. We had heard rave reviews about the resorts right on the rim so were reluctant to stay at Yavapai as we thought it might be dodgy. We were only at the Canyon for 24 hours so we were so pleased that we stayed right in the national park. The lodge is close enough to walk to the rim and there is a big grocery store close by and also shuttle buses the other parts of the park. The rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for our post Christmas visit to the Grand Canyon. It was our first time back to the GC in over 15 years and going during the winter. We made reservation about 2 months in advance and was happy with our decision. Check in was efficient. Our yavapai west room was adequate with no major complaints. It was a good winter rate value for what we paid in order to stay in the park without wasting time exiting & returning . We parked at the general store and hopped on the GC shuttle to get to the various location to avoid parking problems. Overall, I would definitely return for another 2 night stay. It's conveniently located near the general store where a microwave is available for use near the meat department.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed only 2 nights at the Yavapai Lodge. It is just around the corner of the north rim. It was our first visit of the Grand Canyon nd we were just blown away.

The Lodge is nice, cozy and clean. But dont expect to get a bargain, it is horrible expensive. We had a bad timing and payed a lot of money. But at the end, it was worth it, because you can stay in the national park. There are only just a few lodges in the park, and if you dont book well in advance, those lodges are fully booked.

You can walk to the rim or you can take a shuttle. Overall, we had a wonderful stay

Room Tip: A/C units need to run all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Yavapi Lodge is a group of large two story cabin blocks with about twenty rooms in each block. Each room is comfortable, with a Bed, TV, coffee maker, bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries...what more can you need. Elk walk right past your window. There is a restaurant only 10min from the lodges and a free bus to take you around the rim and to all the great locations. We loved staying here and had the opportunity to go for a fixed wing flight over the canyon which made our trip .

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant/reception and bus are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The room is quite clean and warm, located in the national park, easily commute to view points. The catering service is ok, close too early though. Staff are nice and helpful, easy with check in and check out service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's never easy to find a hotel/motel room that can comfortably sleep a family of five. Our room here had a great "sofa sleeper" in addition to the two large beds. We fit great and enjoyed our stay very much. The location was great as well (close to a market, a place to eat and the shuttle stop). I would recommend it (especially if you have a hard to fit family like ours!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yavapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yavapai Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yavapai Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Yavapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yavapai Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Yavapai Lodge Grand Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yavapai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.