We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but still happy with it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Maswik Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Mount Clemens, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but still happy with it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not the fanciest accommodations but you can't beat the location and whatever you want to do around the Canyon, there are buses, vans, etc to pick you up. The room was clean and pretty big. There are several restaurants/bars/shops within walking distance and the Canyon is only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    772
    586
    150
    61
See reviews for
711
597
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This isn't The Bright Angel or El Tovar but I really like the stay. I preferred being a 5 minute walk from the rim as I didn't have people walking outside my room at all hours. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My 2 children (8, 15), and I stayed at Maswick Lodge in June, and we really loved it!

The staff was so accommodating to anything and everything we needed. The room rate was excellent, and it was wonderful to stay in the park.

The food court had so many choices, and the food was very good. I found myself looking forward to the meals.

One morning, 5 elk walked right outside our room and stood there grazing for almost 10 minutes!

Recommendations:

Request a second-floor room
Leave windows open all day with fans running to help keep the room cooler.
If you need anything at all, just ask their very helpful staff.

I am already planning a return trip to the a Grand Canyon, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere except Maswick!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Globus put us up here and it was convenient to the South Rim, trails and restaurant at the Bright Angel Lodge. Decent accommodations in a rustic setting. we overlooked some clothes we left in the closed and they were good enough to FedX them to one of our stops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at Maswick Lodge in room 6633 for one night. The room was very small but had two double beds, desk, tv, fridge and two fans hence why it felt extra cramped. We arrived in the afternoon where the Canyon had experienced some storms and therefore lower temperatures. Our room was incredibly hot and I would dread to think how hot it could have got on a day where the temps reach +105f.

Anyway we didn't come to the canyon to spend our time in the hotel room. The views and wildlife me than made up for the below standard room.

We had a pizza and couple of beers in the Maswick Pizza Pub. I don't know whether it was the fact we had walked a lot but the pizza was gorgeous!

You expect the room at Maswick Lodge to be 'basic' as it is a lodge in a National Park but we've stayed in other National Park lodges that have been much better.

Air conditioning is a must as the fans are incredibly noisy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

There are reviews all over the board on this property so I was a little nervous. We stayed one night with our railway package.

Check-in was good with the staff welcoming and friendly. Got our room key and off we went to find the room. The property is big with multiple complexes. It is an outdoor, campy feel with trees surrounding the units. The buildings are old but I felt they are doing a good job at keeping them up. We found the room, opened the door and were pleasantly surprised. We must have got a refurbished room because it was totally different than the outside. Everything was new, clean and looked like any city hotel room you might be familiar with.

The beds were comfortable, a/c worked well and the bathroom was clean with a good working shower. We had a 1st floor with a slider that opened directly to the woods out back. We were fortunate to see some wildlife in the morning which was really cool. The ceilings were thin and heard the footsteps from the people above...but just popped my ear plugs in and quickly fell asleep.

The cafeteria was also better than we thought based on some reviews. The fairly priced breakfast did the job and gave us a good start to our day. It is cafeteria style food so if you are expecting a gourmet sit down experience you will need to go elsewhere.

We had a very enjoyable 1 night stay at the Maswik and was pleasantly surprised not knowing exactly what to expect. If you are looking for a fairly priced room in the Grand Canyon Park with a short 5 minute walk to the rim then this is definitely a choice for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

the hotel is nothing spectacular, but it offers a clean room at a decent price. It's a short walk to the canyon. It has average food in the food court. Nice people. Did exactly what I needed it to do.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.