We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Maswik Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is located within the National Park, less than a 5 minute walk away from the rim of the Grand Canyon. The room itself was hot and we had to turn the thermostat right down to find a comfortable temperature for the night.
However, the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and the location can't be faulted.
The staff that checked us in were very nice and knowledgable about the Grand Canyon and surrounding states. The lodge is located close to a main food court, pizza pub and transit buses within the park.
An excellent choice, particularly for the good price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as we found that the floorboards creaked when we were walking aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Maswik Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am glad to hear that your stay at our Maswik Lodge was a pleasant one. I am especially happy to read your comments about our staff and their efforts. Our staff makes the difference between a good trip and a great vacation, and we are proud of their interaction with our guests.
Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    809
    603
    161
    65
See reviews for
741
628
56
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

HI. we went to the canyon at the last moment and this is all they had left. it was good enough for the 2 days we were there. with more time we probably could have gotten something better. it was a short walk to the canyon. not too many lights around at night so you should have a flashlight for sure. you could almost fall into the canyon its so dark at night. we did not eat here so i dont know how the food is. the room is clean and it was cool so being hot was not a problem.

Room Tip: bring warm clothes because when the sun goes down it gets cool no matter what time of the year it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We lived about 5 minutes away from the Canyon, which was great. The rooms aren't exactly the four seasons but they're clean. I loved the soap (it smelled really good). However our bathroom door wouldn't properly close. Overall it's okay for staying there a few days. I also liked all the ranger programms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologno Monzese, Italia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located directly inside the national park of the Grand Canyon. So you need to pay the park's fee for to access at the hotel. The lobby is nice and well kept, the internal self-service offers fairly good food. I was a little disappointed about the room. It seems old. Need a lot of maintenance. The drain in the bathtub, in particular, during the shower had clogged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very close to canyon view point from our lodge. I went to sunrise point, used the early bus. The bus stop was close to our lodge too, and we could go there by walking. The room was small, but pretty furniture in there. Reception lobby was big. There were a food court and small gift shop, check in time 24 hours. Every thing is there. I think this is very useful lodge in the park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at Maswick lodge North for two nights. Location is excellent location, just 5 min. walk to the south rim. Rooms are basic big and clean. The restaurant has good selection but is self-service. The staff is courteous. Staying inside the park more than compensates for everything.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for staying when visiting the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: The North upstairs rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms seemed unchanged from 8 years ago. I appreciate that this hotel is inside a National Park but some updating is long overdue. Maswick Lodge is a short walk from the rim - but 100% not the part of the rim that offers the best view of the canyon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.