We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location for less than the hotels at the rim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Maswik Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Location, location, location for less than the hotels at the rim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Maswik North in February 2013 and had lowered our expectations for this property after reading the previous mixed reviews. We were very happy with our stay, primarily because of the excellent location. Maswick is less than a 10 minute walk to the rim of the canyon, and only a two minute walk to the cafeteria (okay for breakfast because it's quick and there's a decent variety to choose from). When we first arrived we saw our room had a burnt out bedside lamp and one of the beds had sheets that needed changing (there was what appeared to be a bootprint on the sheet). These minor annoyances were dealt with quickly by the very polite staff. The room itself had a balcony, mini-fridge and in-room safe. If this had been a motel in a typical setting I would have given it a 3/5, but because of the location at the Grand Canyon it deserves to be bumped to a 4. Being so close to the rim at such an affordable price made it all worthwhile - we managed to get the "winter stay 2 night special" which put the room around $100 per night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    726
    549
    140
    58
See reviews for
659
567
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Maswik Lodge on a family trip in 2005 and were impressed by the standard and value for money. On this trip our accommodation was pre-booked through Grand Canyon Association because I was doing one of their field trips. I had tried to book at other GC accommodation 7 months out but there was nothing available so used the GCA's booking service (they pre-book blocks of budget rooms for their clients) I discovered on arrival that there were in fact rooms available on the nights we were there, so it is always worth asking on check in if you prefer something more upmarket. As a result we were in the 'budget' rooms with no air-conditioning on the top floor of the Lodge and found them oppressively hot at the end of the day. Apart from this however rooms were clean, very large and functional. The rooms now even have a refrigerator, the absence of which I complained about in my last review of the place. Anyway when you're staying in the Grand Canyon, rooms barely matter!

Room Tip: If traveling in summer request a ground floor room, as they may be cooler. If your room is booked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service was excellent from the bellman and the registration desk considering the volume of people being served by the hotel. I got the feeeling from the activity that this place is a revolving door! The bus stops to take you all over the park are a block or more away so if you have a handicapped person it can be a challenge but active individuals will find the location invigorating. The food in the cafeteria was average but they had a nice selection for everything but deserts. Mule deer were on the property and we enjoyed watching them with their babies on our evening walk to get Pizza in the pizza parlor. The cost was steep for the room quality. Rooms were quiet. The actual beds better than expected for this hotel. Pillows and blankets needed major upgrading! The rooms were dated but very clean! All in all, a good experience!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and blankets! Ask for anything you need - staff are very accomodating and hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her because we wanted to stay in the park and be close to the rim. The room itself was just average, something like a days inn or super 8, nothing special but of course the price was $179.00, so we were paying for the loation. It was clean and had a fridge and a balcony. The bed, said to be a queen, was a very samll queen. It was close by the main check in and dining hall and that was nice, and shuttle busses were close by. Staff was very frendly, the lady who checked us in, Tisha was very nice, frendly and enjoyed her job, even the maids cleaning the rooms had a nice smile and a hello. We enjoyd our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here at our recent visit to the Grand Canyon. The hotel consists of a main reception and dining hall building and a number of log cabins and motel style rooms. We stayed in a motel style room in a very quiet part at the back. The room was big ( for European standards) with two queen size beds and very clean. The decor was functional but one would not expect anything else. The front desk staff were very friendly and we had breakfast in the fast food style dining rooms every morning. Actually, I was quite pleased to find fresh fruit, cereals and green tea despite there being burgers and burritos etc. The hotel is only a short walk from the rim (5 mins) and has one of the village free sightseeing bus stops right outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I came to visit Grand Canyon (first time) during winter. I was hoping to see what thousands of other people have seen, but alas, in winter, the ability to see the canyon varies. It was filled with fog/clouds. Hoping that the next day would be better, we went to stay at Maswik Lodge. Partly because it was off season, there was no problem getting a room. Maswik is the lodge that is the least expensive, partly because it was the one that was the most distance from the canyon rim. The rooms were small but had a tv. Wireless was only available in the office. The restaurant was more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had been told Maswik was quite rustic so we were pleastly surprised to see how large and complete it was which included a full program with a great shower with lots of pressure. The room is not glamourous but it was quite comfortable, queen and much larger than expected. It is in a very quiet setting. It was great being close enough that we could enjoy the Canyon sunsets.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maswik Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.