We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Save Saved
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maswik Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Budget rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Maswik Lodge on a family trip in 2005 and were impressed by the standard and value for money. On this trip our accommodation was pre-booked through Grand Canyon Association because I was doing one of their field trips. I had tried to book at other GC accommodation 7 months out but there was nothing available so used the GCA's booking service (they pre-book blocks of budget rooms for their clients) I discovered on arrival that there were in fact rooms available on the nights we were there, so it is always worth asking on check in if you prefer something more upmarket. As a result we were in the 'budget' rooms with no air-conditioning on the top floor of the Lodge and found them oppressively hot at the end of the day. Apart from this however rooms were clean, very large and functional. The rooms now even have a refrigerator, the absence of which I complained about in my last review of the place. Anyway when you're staying in the Grand Canyon, rooms barely matter!

Room Tip: If traveling in summer request a ground floor room, as they may be cooler. If your room is booked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    624
    465
    123
    50
See reviews for
557
493
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service was excellent from the bellman and the registration desk considering the volume of people being served by the hotel. I got the feeeling from the activity that this place is a revolving door! The bus stops to take you all over the park are a block or more away so if you have a handicapped person it can be a challenge but active individuals will find the location invigorating. The food in the cafeteria was average but they had a nice selection for everything but deserts. Mule deer were on the property and we enjoyed watching them with their babies on our evening walk to get Pizza in the pizza parlor. The cost was steep for the room quality. Rooms were quiet. The actual beds better than expected for this hotel. Pillows and blankets needed major upgrading! The rooms were dated but very clean! All in all, a good experience!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and blankets! Ask for anything you need - staff are very accomodating and hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her because we wanted to stay in the park and be close to the rim. The room itself was just average, something like a days inn or super 8, nothing special but of course the price was $179.00, so we were paying for the loation. It was clean and had a fridge and a balcony. The bed, said to be a queen, was a very samll queen. It was close by the main check in and dining hall and that was nice, and shuttle busses were close by. Staff was very frendly, the lady who checked us in, Tisha was very nice, frendly and enjoyed her job, even the maids cleaning the rooms had a nice smile and a hello. We enjoyd our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here at our recent visit to the Grand Canyon. The hotel consists of a main reception and dining hall building and a number of log cabins and motel style rooms. We stayed in a motel style room in a very quiet part at the back. The room was big ( for European standards) with two queen size beds and very clean. The decor was functional but one would not expect anything else. The front desk staff were very friendly and we had breakfast in the fast food style dining rooms every morning. Actually, I was quite pleased to find fresh fruit, cereals and green tea despite there being burgers and burritos etc. The hotel is only a short walk from the rim (5 mins) and has one of the village free sightseeing bus stops right outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I came to visit Grand Canyon (first time) during winter. I was hoping to see what thousands of other people have seen, but alas, in winter, the ability to see the canyon varies. It was filled with fog/clouds. Hoping that the next day would be better, we went to stay at Maswik Lodge. Partly because it was off season, there was no problem getting a room. Maswik is the lodge that is the least expensive, partly because it was the one that was the most distance from the canyon rim. The rooms were small but had a tv. Wireless was only available in the office. The restaurant was more like a cafeteria than a restaurant, but the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had been told Maswik was quite rustic so we were pleastly surprised to see how large and complete it was which included a full program with a great shower with lots of pressure. The room is not glamourous but it was quite comfortable, queen and much larger than expected. It is in a very quiet setting. It was great being close enough that we could enjoy the Canyon sunsets.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

National park lodgings can't really compete with private enterprises, but I just want people to know what they are getting. The rooms are tired, cramped, extremely limited in ammenities, and not convenient to eating spots other than a college dorm type eating room. There is no place to sit and relax other than a dek chair that sits so tight, you can't move it out to use. The bedspreads are too large for the beds, and the pillows are awful. The room was clean enough, and the staff at the lodge were generally good. But you pay for the location and nothing else. The Maswic really needs to be remodeled! It's hard to enjoy the stay here as they currently are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maswik Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.