We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, school campy and vacant...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Save Saved
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maswik Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tired, school campy and vacant...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in room 6834 at the Maswik Lodge and in hindsight think we were a misled about what to expect when we made our booking through the Xantera Central Reservations.

We booked in September for a November stay and when we did so were warned that we better book rooms, bus tours, hotel reservations etc. for fear of disappointment. When we got there we discovered that most of the lodges were vacant, the bus tours easily available, the wifi was not working (changing servers apparently), some cafeteria's closing for the season and other restaurants empty.
And it was cold! No wonder nobody was there.

Why the importance of pre-booking? Clearly the agents who advised us were more concerned with their commission than the quality of our stay.

Maswik Lodge itself was a ghost town, and was just a little bit run down; yes the rooms and bathrooms were adequate, with friendly housekeeping and all the items one would expect, but one should consider the South Rim itself at the end of season.

Dilapidated.

It seemed ten years out of date, and ten years overused. Tired, school campy and vacant.

El Tovar, their premier hotel and dining area, certainly seemed worth visiting for lodging and food - their breakfasts were amazing - but the Maswik Cafeteria reminded me of school lunches and the Bright Angel Restuarant was a bit like a roadside diner.

It was all rather un-inviting.

Thankfully when we asked to leave early, their cancellation policy allowed one to provided one did so before 11am of the day of checking out.

Next time we will try the North Rim... in the summer!

(Oh, and the Grand Canyon was unbelievable)

Room Tip: Rather spend a bit extra and stay at the El Tovar, or outside the park and drive in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    630
    470
    124
    51
See reviews for
565
499
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Maswik Lodge is a low grade overnight accommodation. It is certainly less expensive than some of your other options. However, you get what you pay for in this particular case. The location is excellent but so are your other options. The biggest concern is the housekeeping. Our room upon receiving was not sanitized in the bathroom. This should be the biggest concern when considering this property.

Room Tip: Consider other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Before going to the grand canyon i did a lot of research and the general consensus was that you had to stay inside the park, Maswik was the only reservation i could find so i booked in.
The cafeteria wasn't too bad, it was quite expensive but the food was ok. Our room was however a huge disappointment. It felt dirty and gloomy and a complete rip off considering it was $200 a night. I really regretted staying here.
I don't really understand this mania for "staying in the park" at the grand canyon. Somewhere like death valley i understand you have to stay in the park if you want to see it. The grand canyon is spectacular but once it gets dark you can't see it. It doesn't matter if it is 500m away or 5000m away, you still can't see it. I was at the rim for sunset and woke up at 5am to walk the rim and watch the sunrise. This was amazing, but i would have been able to do this driving back and forth from Tusayan about 5 minutes away. i have never stayed in Tusayan so have no idea what the motels are like but they can't be worse than Maswik.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What could be nicer than waking up, walking 500 metres past several deer to see the best sunrise? The rooms at the Maswik Lodge are basic but clean, but they are all you really need. The beds were comfortable but if the Lodge was anywhere else than on the rim of the Grand Canyon it would probably only be rated as average. Staying in the National Park so close to such a magnificent natural wonder overcomes any deficiencies that the Lodge may have. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was hesitant to stay based on some reviews and the generally hectic feel to the area from my last visit, but being super disappointed with the hotel we stayed at last time, and the fact I had a very tight schedule this time with three younger children, I decided the convenience was worth the risk. We arrived wearily at night, and one caution is that it is difficult to find parking and the lighting surrounding the Maswik Lodge check-in building is virtually non-existent. However, we had an easy check in process, and found it wasn't too difficult to locate our actual building. I was genuinely surprised at how nice our room was, decorated in a western theme. My daughter had a sore throat and we were super excited that there was tea along with coffee in our room! The room was very clean, and the bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispensers so no worry about not having enough to share with myself and three children from a little bottle. We also had a patio area, and in the morning was greeted both in front of our room and on the patio with deer and other wildlife!! We were just an ultra short walk to the rim of the canyon. Even though this was not the most luxurious place we stayed in on our trip, it was BY FAR my favorite experience. Every single person we dealt with from check-in, to check-out, to the gift shop and all the restaurant employees were TOP NOTCH. Super friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, we ate at the Maswik Lodge restaurant, and it (although somewhat confusing) had decent food at decent prices. I would most definitely return. Highlight of our trip!! Great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to rim, so worth it for location. Good value and comfortable rooms.
Free shuttle buses to get around if u don't fancy the walk.
Recommend- might not be height of luxury but such good value for a fab location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Maswik Lodge South for two nights. We got a great rate of $92/night from their website. We knew it would be a basic room, but what more do you need? It has two beds, fridge, TV, coffee maker, hair dryer. We went in late October so didn't need air conditioning. The blue route bus stop is just outside the lobby, the red route bus stop is a 5-minute walk away. The location is great -- a short walk to Bright Angel Lodge, El Tovar, Hopi House, etc.

The first night we arrived tired and hungry so ate at their cafetaria -- and were disappointed. The next night we paid a little bit more (really, just a little bit more) and had a decent meal at the Bright Angel Lodge.

I found their shampoo very harsh and drying. Use your own.

Room Tip: Building 1 is right behind the main building. The path is well lit and if you want to eat in the caf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maswik Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.