We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and gloomy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Maswik Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible and gloomy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Before going to the grand canyon i did a lot of research and the general consensus was that you had to stay inside the park, Maswik was the only reservation i could find so i booked in.
The cafeteria wasn't too bad, it was quite expensive but the food was ok. Our room was however a huge disappointment. It felt dirty and gloomy and a complete rip off considering it was $200 a night. I really regretted staying here.
I don't really understand this mania for "staying in the park" at the grand canyon. Somewhere like death valley i understand you have to stay in the park if you want to see it. The grand canyon is spectacular but once it gets dark you can't see it. It doesn't matter if it is 500m away or 5000m away, you still can't see it. I was at the rim for sunset and woke up at 5am to walk the rim and watch the sunrise. This was amazing, but i would have been able to do this driving back and forth from Tusayan about 5 minutes away. i have never stayed in Tusayan so have no idea what the motels are like but they can't be worse than Maswik.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfa2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What could be nicer than waking up, walking 500 metres past several deer to see the best sunrise? The rooms at the Maswik Lodge are basic but clean, but they are all you really need. The beds were comfortable but if the Lodge was anywhere else than on the rim of the Grand Canyon it would probably only be rated as average. Staying in the National Park so close to such a magnificent natural wonder overcomes any deficiencies that the Lodge may have. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was hesitant to stay based on some reviews and the generally hectic feel to the area from my last visit, but being super disappointed with the hotel we stayed at last time, and the fact I had a very tight schedule this time with three younger children, I decided the convenience was worth the risk. We arrived wearily at night, and one caution is that it is difficult to find parking and the lighting surrounding the Maswik Lodge check-in building is virtually non-existent. However, we had an easy check in process, and found it wasn't too difficult to locate our actual building. I was genuinely surprised at how nice our room was, decorated in a western theme. My daughter had a sore throat and we were super excited that there was tea along with coffee in our room! The room was very clean, and the bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispensers so no worry about not having enough to share with myself and three children from a little bottle. We also had a patio area, and in the morning was greeted both in front of our room and on the patio with deer and other wildlife!! We were just an ultra short walk to the rim of the canyon. Even though this was not the most luxurious place we stayed in on our trip, it was BY FAR my favorite experience. Every single person we dealt with from check-in, to check-out, to the gift shop and all the restaurant employees were TOP NOTCH. Super friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, we ate at the Maswik Lodge restaurant, and it (although somewhat confusing) had decent food at decent prices. I would most definitely return. Highlight of our trip!! Great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jminy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to rim, so worth it for location. Good value and comfortable rooms.
Free shuttle buses to get around if u don't fancy the walk.
Recommend- might not be height of luxury but such good value for a fab location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovefoodandhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Maswik Lodge South for two nights. We got a great rate of $92/night from their website. We knew it would be a basic room, but what more do you need? It has two beds, fridge, TV, coffee maker, hair dryer. We went in late October so didn't need air conditioning. The blue route bus stop is just outside the lobby, the red route bus stop is a 5-minute walk away. The location is great -- a short walk to Bright Angel Lodge, El Tovar, Hopi House, etc.

The first night we arrived tired and hungry so ate at their cafetaria -- and were disappointed. The next night we paid a little bit more (really, just a little bit more) and had a decent meal at the Bright Angel Lodge.

I found their shampoo very harsh and drying. Use your own.

Room Tip: Building 1 is right behind the main building. The path is well lit and if you want to eat in the caf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO DE JANEIRO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my family stayed at Maswik just for one night, we came from Los Angeles and going next day to Las vegas, and see Grand Canyon was one of our preferences. Very good Hotel with a big room, since we are five, very clean with a good shower. No wi fi at the room. Excelent Cafeteria where we had lunch and the next day a perfect breakfast. Our room was at a silence place and not on the second floor,it was very good for us, since we had lot of luggages.Don`t expect luxury place, it is very simple but good enough to spend a night. The advantage to be inside the park is a great positive point. The staff at front desk was very kind and helpful, special thanks to Regina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CASSIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You don’t expect the Ritz at an outdoor setting like the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. But there are some standards you desire. What we found here missed the mark as far as that goes. I was shocked while taking a shower to find about 20 dark hairs stuck to the widest of the three walls of the stall. And they ranged about 3” to what had to be over a foot long. It was shocking. How could this be missed by the housekeeper? My imagination ran wild. I thought, did a spirit warrior take a shower after the room was cleaned? Then, being in the medical field, I thought that the person is losing so much hair that s/he might be ill – I became more somber with that thought.
As well, the rest of the room showed signs of neglected housekeeping. The coffee carafe had a broken handle, resulting in liquid flowing down the side – onto one’s hand. Careful! There was litter from other residents. I thought about calling Reception about the hairs and requesting someone in authority to come witness what I had found. But I realized that all that would result would be some hapless soul sent to do what I did – just sluice the detritus down the drain. It took several cupfuls of water, I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havefunwilltravel816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,305 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing