We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value with Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maswik Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value with Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What could be nicer than waking up, walking 500 metres past several deer to see the best sunrise? The rooms at the Maswik Lodge are basic but clean, but they are all you really need. The beds were comfortable but if the Lodge was anywhere else than on the rim of the Grand Canyon it would probably only be rated as average. Staying in the National Park so close to such a magnificent natural wonder overcomes any deficiencies that the Lodge may have. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    635
    478
    124
    51
See reviews for
572
503
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was hesitant to stay based on some reviews and the generally hectic feel to the area from my last visit, but being super disappointed with the hotel we stayed at last time, and the fact I had a very tight schedule this time with three younger children, I decided the convenience was worth the risk. We arrived wearily at night, and one caution is that it is difficult to find parking and the lighting surrounding the Maswik Lodge check-in building is virtually non-existent. However, we had an easy check in process, and found it wasn't too difficult to locate our actual building. I was genuinely surprised at how nice our room was, decorated in a western theme. My daughter had a sore throat and we were super excited that there was tea along with coffee in our room! The room was very clean, and the bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispensers so no worry about not having enough to share with myself and three children from a little bottle. We also had a patio area, and in the morning was greeted both in front of our room and on the patio with deer and other wildlife!! We were just an ultra short walk to the rim of the canyon. Even though this was not the most luxurious place we stayed in on our trip, it was BY FAR my favorite experience. Every single person we dealt with from check-in, to check-out, to the gift shop and all the restaurant employees were TOP NOTCH. Super friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, we ate at the Maswik Lodge restaurant, and it (although somewhat confusing) had decent food at decent prices. I would most definitely return. Highlight of our trip!! Great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to rim, so worth it for location. Good value and comfortable rooms.
Free shuttle buses to get around if u don't fancy the walk.
Recommend- might not be height of luxury but such good value for a fab location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Maswik Lodge South for two nights. We got a great rate of $92/night from their website. We knew it would be a basic room, but what more do you need? It has two beds, fridge, TV, coffee maker, hair dryer. We went in late October so didn't need air conditioning. The blue route bus stop is just outside the lobby, the red route bus stop is a 5-minute walk away. The location is great -- a short walk to Bright Angel Lodge, El Tovar, Hopi House, etc.

The first night we arrived tired and hungry so ate at their cafetaria -- and were disappointed. The next night we paid a little bit more (really, just a little bit more) and had a decent meal at the Bright Angel Lodge.

I found their shampoo very harsh and drying. Use your own.

Room Tip: Building 1 is right behind the main building. The path is well lit and if you want to eat in the caf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO DE JANEIRO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my family stayed at Maswik just for one night, we came from Los Angeles and going next day to Las vegas, and see Grand Canyon was one of our preferences. Very good Hotel with a big room, since we are five, very clean with a good shower. No wi fi at the room. Excelent Cafeteria where we had lunch and the next day a perfect breakfast. Our room was at a silence place and not on the second floor,it was very good for us, since we had lot of luggages.Don`t expect luxury place, it is very simple but good enough to spend a night. The advantage to be inside the park is a great positive point. The staff at front desk was very kind and helpful, special thanks to Regina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/US
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You don’t expect the Ritz at an outdoor setting like the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. But there are some standards you desire. What we found here missed the mark as far as that goes. I was shocked while taking a shower to find about 20 dark hairs stuck to the widest of the three walls of the stall. And they ranged about 3” to what had to be over a foot long. It was shocking. How could this be missed by the housekeeper? My imagination ran wild. I thought, did a spirit warrior take a shower after the room was cleaned? Then, being in the medical field, I thought that the person is losing so much hair that s/he might be ill – I became more somber with that thought.
As well, the rest of the room showed signs of neglected housekeeping. The coffee carafe had a broken handle, resulting in liquid flowing down the side – onto one’s hand. Careful! There was litter from other residents. I thought about calling Reception about the hairs and requesting someone in authority to come witness what I had found. But I realized that all that would result would be some hapless soul sent to do what I did – just sluice the detritus down the drain. It took several cupfuls of water, I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night at Maswik North on our first visit to the Grand Canyon. The location is literally a 10-min. walk to Bright Angel and El Tovar and has the advantage of being quieter for sleeping. Amenities are fairly basic for the price (no wifi in the room), but the convenience of the location can't be beat. The slightly higher price of the North rooms was justified if you like a little more space, not having hikers trekking by your front door, and a parking spot right at your room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maswik Lodge 3*
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list