We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maswik Lodge to your Saves list
Maswik Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to rim, so worth it for location. Good value and comfortable rooms.
Free shuttle buses to get around if u don't fancy the walk.
Recommend- might not be height of luxury but such good value for a fab location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    831
    615
    164
    67
See reviews for
771
636
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Maswik Lodge South for two nights. We got a great rate of $92/night from their website. We knew it would be a basic room, but what more do you need? It has two beds, fridge, TV, coffee maker, hair dryer. We went in late October so didn't need air conditioning. The blue route bus stop is just outside the lobby, the red route bus stop is a 5-minute walk away. The location is great -- a short walk to Bright Angel Lodge, El Tovar, Hopi House, etc.

The first night we arrived tired and hungry so ate at their cafetaria -- and were disappointed. The next night we paid a little bit more (really, just a little bit more) and had a decent meal at the Bright Angel Lodge.

I found their shampoo very harsh and drying. Use your own.

Room Tip: Building 1 is right behind the main building. The path is well lit and if you want to eat in the caf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO DE JANEIRO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and my family stayed at Maswik just for one night, we came from Los Angeles and going next day to Las vegas, and see Grand Canyon was one of our preferences. Very good Hotel with a big room, since we are five, very clean with a good shower. No wi fi at the room. Excelent Cafeteria where we had lunch and the next day a perfect breakfast. Our room was at a silence place and not on the second floor,it was very good for us, since we had lot of luggages.Don`t expect luxury place, it is very simple but good enough to spend a night. The advantage to be inside the park is a great positive point. The staff at front desk was very kind and helpful, special thanks to Regina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You don’t expect the Ritz at an outdoor setting like the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. But there are some standards you desire. What we found here missed the mark as far as that goes. I was shocked while taking a shower to find about 20 dark hairs stuck to the widest of the three walls of the stall. And they ranged about 3” to what had to be over a foot long. It was shocking. How could this be missed by the housekeeper? My imagination ran wild. I thought, did a spirit warrior take a shower after the room was cleaned? Then, being in the medical field, I thought that the person is losing so much hair that s/he might be ill – I became more somber with that thought.
As well, the rest of the room showed signs of neglected housekeeping. The coffee carafe had a broken handle, resulting in liquid flowing down the side – onto one’s hand. Careful! There was litter from other residents. I thought about calling Reception about the hairs and requesting someone in authority to come witness what I had found. But I realized that all that would result would be some hapless soul sent to do what I did – just sluice the detritus down the drain. It took several cupfuls of water, I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night at Maswik North on our first visit to the Grand Canyon. The location is literally a 10-min. walk to Bright Angel and El Tovar and has the advantage of being quieter for sleeping. Amenities are fairly basic for the price (no wifi in the room), but the convenience of the location can't be beat. The slightly higher price of the North rooms was justified if you like a little more space, not having hikers trekking by your front door, and a parking spot right at your room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

It was hard to find 2 rooms in the village, even with some anticipation. Still thought it was pricey for the old and not so clean room. We found even old food in the fridge, very disgusting indeed. No breakfast included in the rate. The best thing for sure was the place, very calm and way dark at night, might have something to do with the animals that live in the area (and we've seen lots of them). It's also great to sight stars.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our road trip and we loved it. We stayed in a cabin furthest from the lodge itself, so closest to the rim and we thought it was great. Very spacious for 2 people, and although there was no aircon, this wasn't a problem at the time of our stay. We thought the Maswik cafeteria was perfectly fine - really enjoyed the Philly steak sandwich. And considering the location and the demand for accommodation at the South Rim, we though the whole thing was pretty decent value for money. The desk staff were friendly and efficient, and the cabin was kept very clean during our stay. It was also in a great spot to see deer wandering about in the evening. It enabled us to make the most of our days exploring the South Rim. Would definitely recommend the Maswik Lodge, though maybe not in high summer due to the lack of aircon. NB though, dinner at the El Tovar was overpriced and overrated. Nothing wrong with the food really, but not much of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maswik Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.